Buying guide
The Best Inversion Tables, Overall and for Every Use Case
By the IntoInversion teamUpdated
- 7 picks
- 16 sources
- 16 min read
We earn from qualifying purchases made through our links.


Top pick for years of use
Teeter FitSpine X3
Choose the Innova ITX9600 if lower upfront cost matters most: its manual lists pin angles from 15° and the table starts at that shallowest hole. Choose the Teeter FitSpine X3 if you expect to use a table for years and will pay for the longer ankle-lock handle, the five-year warranty and Teeter’s full package. A marked tether is not exclusive to Teeter, and equal 300 lb ratings do not mean equal strength. Neither choice shows better pain relief or fewer injuries. If you have a specific need, the picks below cover it.
- Longer EZ-Reach ankle-lock handle, so you bend less to close it
- Five-year full warranty, against one year on Innova's tables
- Teeter package: tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°, FDA 510(k) clearance, rated to 300 lb for users 4'8" to 6'6"
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 5 years
- Price range
- Premium
Maker sourceSpecs from the maker's own product page

Best for a first table
Choose it if you have never inverted and want to find out whether it suits you before spending premium money: it publishes the same 300 lb and 4'10" to 6'6" range as Innova's more expensive tables, and its manual lists pin angles from 15°. Skip it if you want the longer ankle-lock handle and the five-year warranty: that is what the X3 costs extra for.

Best with heat and massage
Choose it if you want heat and vibration across the back on a table with Teeter's five-year warranty: the cushion covers most of the backrest and comes off when you want a firm surface. Skip it if you want the lowest price for heat: Innova's ITM4800 builds a lumbar heat band into a cheaper table, and the heat parts carry one year on either brand.

Best premium: easiest to get on and off
Choose it if stepping in and locking your ankles is the hard part, whether from stiffness, balance or knee trouble: a boarding platform and an arched frame make that easier. Skip it if getting on and off is not a problem for you: the X3 has the same marked angles and five-year warranty for less.
This is our list of the best inversion tables: one top pick for long-term use and a lower-cost start, then the top-rated table for each specific need, rated on the specs each maker publishes. We did not test these tables on people, and if you buy through our links we may earn a commission, which never decides which table we pick or the order they appear in.
The Best Inversion Tables at a Glance
Cells come from the manufacturer’s own product page or manual wherever one exists. Where only a retail listing is available, as for the YOLEO, the cell is marked as listing data, and where a maker does not publish a figure, the table says “Not stated” instead of guessing. The price tiers are relative to each other, not fixed price points, because prices on these tables move often.
| Spec | Editor's choice Teeter FitSpine X3Premium, price tier 3 of 3Maker source | Innova ITX9600Budget, price tier 1 of 3Maker source | Teeter EP-560VMid-range, price tier 2 of 3Maker source | Teeter FitSpine LX9Premium, price tier 3 of 3Maker source | YOLEO Heavy DutyBudget, price tier 1 of 3Listing only | Innova ITX1200Mid-range, price tier 2 of 3Maker source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best for | Most people | A first table | Heat and massage | Easiest on and off | Lowest spend | Over 300 lb |
| Weight capacity | 300 lb | 300 lb | 300 lb | 300 lb | Not stated | 350 lbHighest here |
| User height | 4'8" to 6'6" | 4'10" to 6'6" | 4'8" to 6'6" | 4'8" to 6'6" | Not stated | 4'10" to 6'6" |
| Angle control | EZ-Angle tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°; full inversion with secure lockout | Pin with protective cover; the manual labels the settings 15°, 30°, 45°, 60° and 85° (the product page calls it a six-position pin) | Angle tether, degrees not stated; full inversion with secure lockout | EZ-Angle tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°; full inversion with secure lockout | Adjustable rear cross bar instead of a tether; degrees not stated | Three-position pin with protective cover; degrees not stated; adjustable stretch bars for a fuller stretch at lower slopes |
| Heat and massage | None | None | Removable Heat & Vibration Comfort Cushion included: six vibration motors, two vibration levels, heat with a 20-minute auto shut-off, mains adapter | None | None | None |
| Warranty | 5 years (extension to 10 sold separately)Highest here | 1 year limited | 5 years on the table; the heat cushion has its own 1-year warrantyHighest here | 5 years (extension to 10 sold separately)Highest here | 2 years | 1 year limited |
| Ankle system | Deluxe EZ-Reach ankle lock, extra-long handle, micro-adjusting closure | Reversible ankle holders (foam rollers and U-shaped holders can trade places) | Ergo-Embrace wrap-around ankle cups, spring-loaded T-pin closure, Ankle Comfort Dial | Deluxe EZ-Reach ankle lock with Ankle Comfort Dial | Adjustable ratchet ankle locking system with safety lock pin | Reversible ankle holding system |
| FDA | 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device | Not stated | 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device | 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device | Not stated | Not stated |
| Assembly and setup | 85% pre-assembled, BILT app instructions (brand-wide claim) | Not stated | BILT app 3D assembly instructions | 85% pre-assembled, BILT app instructions (brand-wide claim) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Buy | See today's price: Teeter FitSpine X3 on Amazon (opens in a new tab) | Not linked | See today's price: Teeter EP-560V on Amazon (opens in a new tab) | See today's price: Teeter FitSpine LX9 on Amazon (opens in a new tab) | See today's price: YOLEO Heavy Duty on Amazon (opens in a new tab) | Not linked |
Editor's choiceTeeter FitSpine X3Maker source- Best for
- Most people
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- EZ-Angle tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°; full inversion with secure lockout
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 5 years (extension to 10 sold separately)Highest here
- Ankle system
- Deluxe EZ-Reach ankle lock, extra-long handle, micro-adjusting closure
- FDA
- 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device
- Assembly and setup
- 85% pre-assembled, BILT app instructions (brand-wide claim)
Innova ITX9600Maker source- Best for
- A first table
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- Pin with protective cover; the manual labels the settings 15°, 30°, 45°, 60° and 85° (the product page calls it a six-position pin)
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- Ankle system
- Reversible ankle holders (foam rollers and U-shaped holders can trade places)
- FDA
- Not stated
- Assembly and setup
- Not stated
Teeter EP-560VMaker source- Best for
- Heat and massage
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- Angle tether, degrees not stated; full inversion with secure lockout
- Heat and massage
- Removable Heat & Vibration Comfort Cushion included: six vibration motors, two vibration levels, heat with a 20-minute auto shut-off, mains adapter
- Warranty
- 5 years on the table; the heat cushion has its own 1-year warrantyHighest here
- Ankle system
- Ergo-Embrace wrap-around ankle cups, spring-loaded T-pin closure, Ankle Comfort Dial
- FDA
- 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device
- Assembly and setup
- BILT app 3D assembly instructions
Teeter FitSpine LX9Maker source- Best for
- Easiest on and off
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- EZ-Angle tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°; full inversion with secure lockout
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 5 years (extension to 10 sold separately)Highest here
- Ankle system
- Deluxe EZ-Reach ankle lock with Ankle Comfort Dial
- FDA
- 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device
- Assembly and setup
- 85% pre-assembled, BILT app instructions (brand-wide claim)
YOLEO Heavy DutyListing only- Best for
- Lowest spend
- Weight capacity
- Not stated
- User height
- Not stated
- Angle control
- Adjustable rear cross bar instead of a tether; degrees not stated
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 2 years
- Ankle system
- Adjustable ratchet ankle locking system with safety lock pin
- FDA
- Not stated
- Assembly and setup
- Not stated
Innova ITX1200Maker source- Best for
- Over 300 lb
- Weight capacity
- 350 lbHighest here
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- Three-position pin with protective cover; degrees not stated; adjustable stretch bars for a fuller stretch at lower slopes
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- Ankle system
- Reversible ankle holding system
- FDA
- Not stated
- Assembly and setup
- Not stated
Maker source from the maker's own page or manual, not independently testedListing only retail listing, no maker spec sheetNot stated the maker publishes nothing
Almost every table stops at 300 lb and 6’6”, so for most people the frame size will not separate them. What does separate them is angle control, warranty length, heat, and whether anyone outside the company has reviewed the device.
How We Picked the Best Inversion Tables
Most “best of” lists copy numbers from retail listings. We went back to the source for each spec, and that changed some of the answers.
Our rules
One top pick, then by need
The X3 is the table we would recommend to someone who expects to use a table for years. For each specific need, we pick the least expensive table that does the job, and only move up a tier when a published spec justifies it.
Maker specs first, listings marked
Manufacturer sources take priority; where a listing disagrees with the maker, we publish the maker's figure. Where only a retail listing exists, we say so.
Sources, not testers
We did not hang upside down on these tables. Every spec links back to where it came from.
Read how we picked, in full
The Rule: One Top Pick, Then the Cheapest Table for Each Need
A beginner, someone who wants heat on a sore back, and a 320 lb user are not shopping for the same table. So we name one top pick, the table we would recommend to someone with no special constraint, and then, for each specific need, the least expensive table that actually does the job for that reader. We only move up a tier when a published spec justifies it, and we write that reason on every product card below, under “Why this and not the cheaper one.”
The X3 is the top pick for long-term use because it is the table you are least likely to outgrow: a longer ankle-lock handle, a five-year warranty, a marked tether and an FDA clearance, without paying for the LX9’s boarding platform. It does not top every section, though. Someone who has never inverted can find out whether it suits them on the ITX9600 for much less, and someone over 300 lb needs the ITX1200.
Maker Specs First, Listings Marked
Listings and maker pages don’t always agree, and it matters which one you trust.
The ITX1200 is the opposite case: Innova’s product page states “a 350 lbs. weight capacity” for that model (Innova), so the higher number is real there.
The same rule applies to the budget pick. YOLEO has no manufacturer spec sheet online, only its Amazon listing, so its column in the table is marked as listing data and more cells read “Not stated.”
What We Did Not Do
This is not a Consumer Reports-style lab test. We did not hang upside down on these tables, we don’t have a panel of testers, and we are not doctors. Our advantage is narrower and easier to check: every spec on this page links back to where it came from, and every health claim is tied to a named study with its limits spelled out. When we could not find something, such as a study comparing morning and evening sessions, we say so rather than fill the gap.
Best Overall Inversion Table: Teeter FitSpine X3
This is the table we would recommend to someone who wants inversion to be part of a routine, plans to use a table for years, and will pay for a longer ankle-lock handle and a longer warranty.

Long ankle-lock handle, 5-year warrantyMaker source
by TEETER
Best for anyone who plans to use a table for years and wants the longer ankle-lock handle and the five-year warranty.
Skip it if you have never inverted and only want to find out whether it suits you: the ITX9600 costs far less.
What the premium over a cheaper table buys is the longer ankle-lock handle, the 5-year warranty against Innova's 1 year, and a tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°. The Innova ITX9600 also lets you set a limit with a pin whose degrees are listed in its manual, so a marked angle is not exclusive to Teeter.
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 5 years
- Price range
- Premium
What we like
- Tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°, set before you get on
- Five-year full warranty, against Innova's one year
- Teeter's tables are FDA 510(k) cleared under K162702
- EZ-Reach ankle lock with an extra-long handle
Keep in mind
- No heat or massage
- No raised boarding platform, unlike the LX9
- Rated to 300 lb, max height 6 ft 6 in
Full specs
- Price range
- Premium
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- EZ-Angle tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°; full inversion with secure lockout
- Ankle system
- Deluxe EZ-Reach ankle lock, extra-long handle, micro-adjusting closure
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 5 years (extension to 10 sold separately)
- FDA
- 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device
Maker sourceFrom the maker's product page. Not stated means the maker publishes nothing.
We may earn a commission. It never changes which table we pick, or the order they appear in.
Marked Angles You Set Before You Get On
The X3’s tether is marked at 20, 40 and 60 degrees, with full inversion available through a secure lockout:
These are product settings, not a recommended progression. Follow the current manual and any restrictions given by your clinician.
The practical benefit is repeatability: you can see the limit on the strap while standing and go back to exactly the same angle next time. The ITX9600 sets a limit with a pin, and its manual lists the degrees (15°, 30°, 45°, 60° and 85°), so a marked angle is not exclusive to Teeter. What differs is how the limit is selected and labeled.
Five Years Against One
Teeter includes a five-year full warranty covering “manufacturing defects in materials, workmanship, fabrics and padding,” with an extension to ten years sold separately (Teeter). That wording is from the FitSpine X1 page; Teeter publishes the same five-year term for the X3 and LX9, against one year on Innova’s tables.
Read what the FDA clearance means, and Teeter's return terms
What FDA 510(k) Clearance Means, and What It Doesn’t
You will see “FDA-registered” all over Teeter’s marketing, so it is worth being exact. The FDA cleared the “Teeter Manual Inversion Table” through the 510(k) process under number K162702, with a decision date of December 30, 2016, and a finding of “substantially equivalent” (FDA, 2016).
The same record covers a Teeter Horizontal Decompression Table and Teeter Gravity Boots. The applicant is STL International, Teeter’s parent company. The record names the manual inversion table, not each FitSpine model individually.
A 510(k) clearance means the FDA agreed the device is substantially equivalent to one already on the market. It is not a finding that the table treats back pain. The device type, non-powered traction apparatus, is Class I, the FDA’s lowest-risk class (FDA).
Teeter itself describes its tables as “UL Safety-Certified and FDA-Registered as Class I medical devices” (Teeter); the UL part is the company’s claim, and we have not checked it against UL’s records.
Why does it matter at all, then? Because most tables never go near the FDA. An article on how inversion therapy is regulated, published in Disability and Rehabilitation in 2023, explains that the FDA only regulates tables whose makers claim a medical use, and most makers do not, so most tables are exempt (Kassay, 2023).
Teeter chose to be reviewed. Innova, on its spec sheets, does not state an FDA status.
Returns When You Buy Direct
Bought directly from Teeter, a table in original condition can be returned within 90 days of delivery for the full item price, while one returned damaged, with missing parts or showing obvious use gets up to 50% (Teeter). That policy covers teeter.com purchases only. If you buy through Amazon, Amazon’s own return policy applies instead.
Best for Getting Started: Innova ITX9600
If you have never used an inversion table and want to find out whether it suits you without spending premium money, start here rather than with the X3.

Reversible ankle holdersMaker source
by Innova
Best for first-time users who want to find out if inversion suits them.
Skip it if you want angles marked on the table itself or a warranty longer than one year: that is the gap the Teeter X3 fills.
It is the only entry table here with reversible ankle holders, so the foam roller can move to the front once inverting stops feeling new. One of its listing bullets says 350 lb; the maker's page says 300 lb, and 300 is what we publish.
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 1 year
- Price range
- Budget
What we like
- Ankle holders reverse, so the foam roller can move to the front
- Manual labels the pin angles, from 15° up to 85°
- Pin with a protective cover, left at 15° after assembly
- Rated to 300 lb in both the manual and on the maker's page
Keep in mind
- One-year limited warranty, non-transferable
- No heat or massage
- Manual shows five pin angles, the product page says six
- Needs 2 ft clear at each side and 3 ft front and back
We are not linking to this model at the moment. The specs below still hold. See the alternatives we would pick instead.
Full specs
- Price range
- Budget
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- Pin with protective cover; the manual labels the settings 15°, 30°, 45°, 60° and 85° (the product page calls it a six-position pin)
- Ankle system
- Reversible ankle holders (foam rollers and U-shaped holders can trade places)
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- FDA
- Not stated
Maker sourceFrom the maker's product page. Not stated means the maker publishes nothing.
Why the ITX9600
The ITX9600 publishes the same 300 lb capacity and 4’10” to 6’6” height range as Innova’s more expensive models. Its distinguishing feature is reversible ankle holders: the foam rollers and the U-shaped holders can swap positions, so you can adjust how your ankles are held as you get used to inverting. It also comes with a full owner’s manual, including Innova’s own list of 21 conditions that should keep you off the table without a doctor’s approval, such as weak ankles and/or feet, spinal injury and glaucoma (Innova). That list is worth reading before your first session whichever table you buy.
What You Give Up
Three things: the pin’s degrees (15° to 85°) are printed only in the owner’s manual, while the product page calls it six positions and the two sources don’t agree on the count; the warranty is one year limited; and Innova states no FDA status for the table. None of that makes it unsafe, but it is the gap between this table and the X3 above.
Where to Buy It
Innova does not sell directly, so you will buy it through a retailer, and the retailer’s return policy is the one that applies. For a deeper look at the rest of the range, see our Innova inversion table buying guide.
Best Inversion Table With Heat and Massage: Teeter EP-560V
Most heat tables build a pad into the backrest. Teeter does it differently: the EP-560V is its ComforTrak EP-560 table sold with a Heat & Vibration Comfort Cushion that attaches over the backrest and comes off when you want a firm surface. It is our pick for most heat buyers because the table under the cushion carries Teeter’s five-year warranty and FDA 510(k) clearance, which no heated Innova table matches. Our page on the Teeter EP-560 heat table compares it line by line with the X3.

Heat cushion on a five-year tableMaker source
by TEETER
Best for people who want heat and vibration across the back on a table they plan to keep for years.
Skip it if you want the cheapest way into heat: the Innova ITM4800 builds a lumbar heat band into a lower-priced table.
Heat and vibration on a cushion that covers the backrest, on a table with Teeter's five-year frame warranty and 510(k) clearance. The cushion itself carries one year, the same as Innova's heat tables, so the extra money buys the table, not a longer warranty on the heat.
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 5 years
- Price range
- Mid-range
What we like
- Heat and six-motor vibration cushion included, and it comes off when you want a firm backrest
- Five-year full warranty on the table, against one year on Innova's
- Teeter's tables are FDA 510(k) cleared under K162702
- Rated to 300 lb, for users 4 ft 8 in to 6 ft 6 in
Keep in mind
- The heat cushion carries only a one-year warranty
- Teeter publishes vibration levels but no heat levels
- Tether angles are not marked in degrees, unlike the X3 and LX9
- Costs more than Innova's built-in heat tables
Full specs
- Price range
- Mid-range
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- Angle tether, degrees not stated; full inversion with secure lockout
- Ankle system
- Ergo-Embrace wrap-around ankle cups, spring-loaded T-pin closure, Ankle Comfort Dial
- Heat and massage
- Removable Heat & Vibration Comfort Cushion included: six vibration motors, two vibration levels, heat with a 20-minute auto shut-off, mains adapter
- Warranty
- 5 years on the table; the heat cushion has its own 1-year warranty
- FDA
- 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device
Maker sourceFrom the maker's product page. Not stated means the maker publishes nothing.
We may earn a commission. It never changes which table we pick, or the order they appear in.
Teeter’s Heat Option: What the Cushion Covers, and Its Warranty
The cushion has six vibration motors with two intensity levels, and heat you control separately from the vibration, with an automatic shut-off at 20 minutes and overheat protection. It runs from a mains power adapter (Teeter). At 41.6 by 15.75 inches, it covers most of the backrest rather than a single lumbar band. Teeter publishes vibration levels but no heat levels.
One thing to know before you pay for it: the five-year warranty is on the table. The EP-560 page gives the table a five-year full warranty (Teeter), while Teeter’s own page for the cushion lists a one-year full warranty (Teeter). Innova’s heat tables carry a one-year limited warranty in total. So no heat part on either brand is covered beyond one year, and what the extra money buys is the table under it.
The EP-560V is the EP-560 with the cushion in the box: Teeter lists that bundle under its own item number, and the plain EP-560 is the same table without it (Teeter). Its tether is not marked in degrees, unlike the X3 and LX9, and the FitSpine models do not include heat as standard.
If you would rather have heat built into the table, and pay less, Innova’s ITM series is the alternative. All three ITM models include heat and vibration as standard, and the choice between them comes down to where your pain sits.
Lower Back Only: ITM4800
The ITM4800 has a lumbar band with heat and vibration that you can reposition. If your discomfort sits low in the back, this covers it, and it is the least expensive heat table on this page.

Lumbar heat and vibrationMaker source
by Innova
Best for people whose discomfort sits low in the back, on a smaller budget.
Skip it if your stiffness travels up the spine or into the neck: the ITM5900 and ITM6000 cover more, and the EP-560V's cushion covers most of the backrest.
The cheapest way into heat and massage on this list. The pad is a lumbar band, not the full spine, which is enough if your pain sits low in the back.
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 1 year
- Price range
- Mid-range
What we like
- Heat and vibration on a lumbar band you can reposition
- Front and rear U-shaped ankle holders
- Six-position pin with a protective cover
- Rated to 300 lb, for users 4 ft 10 in to 6 ft 6 in
Keep in mind
- Pad covers the lower back only, not the full spine
- Pin degrees not stated
- One-year limited warranty
Full specs
- Price range
- Mid-range
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- Six-position pin with protective cover; degrees not stated
- Ankle system
- Ergonomic ankle holding system, front and rear U-shaped holders
- Heat and massage
- Heat and vibration on a lumbar band, adjustable position
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- FDA
- Not stated
Maker sourceFrom the maker's product page. Not stated means the maker publishes nothing.
We may earn a commission. It never changes which table we pick, or the order they appear in.
The Whole Spine: ITM5900
The ITM5900 swaps the lumbar band for a vertical pad that runs the length of the spine. If your stiffness travels up between the shoulder blades, that coverage is the reason to step up. Its ankle system is described by Innova as designed to reduce pressure on the ankle.

Full-spine heat and massageMaker source
by Innova
Best for people whose stiffness travels up between the shoulder blades.
Skip it if your discomfort sits only low in the back: the ITM4800 covers that for less, and only the ITM6000 adds a neck pad.
Pick this over the ITM4800 if the pain runs up the back rather than sitting low: its pad covers the entire spine, not just a lumbar band.
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 1 year
- Price range
- Mid-range
What we like
- Heat and massage pad covers the entire spine
- Ankle holders designed to reduce pressure on the ankle
- Six-position pin with a protective cover
- Rated to 300 lb, for users 4 ft 10 in to 6 ft 6 in
Keep in mind
- No separate neck pad, unlike the ITM6000
- Pin degrees not stated
- One-year limited warranty
Full specs
- Price range
- Mid-range
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- Six-position pin with protective cover; degrees not stated
- Ankle system
- Ergonomic ankle holding system designed to reduce pressure on the ankle
- Heat and massage
- Vertical heat and massage pad covering the entire spine
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- FDA
- Not stated
Maker sourceFrom the maker's product page. Not stated means the maker publishes nothing.
We may earn a commission. It never changes which table we pick, or the order they appear in.
Neck and Back: ITM6000
The ITM6000 is the only table on this page with a separate neck pad, alongside a back pad and two heat levels. Innova also says you can adjust the slope without getting off the table, which is a practical detail if you are still working out your angle.

Separate neck heat padMaker source
by Innova
Best for people who want heat on the neck as well as the back.
Skip it if your neck is not part of the problem: the ITM5900 covers the back for less.
The only table here with a separate neck pad. That is the reason to pay for it, and the only one.
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 1 year
- Price range
- Mid-range
What we like
- Separate neck and back pads, with two heat levels
- Slope adjusts without getting off the table
- Patented No Pinch U-shaped ankle holders
- Rated to 300 lb, for users 4 ft 10 in to 6 ft 6 in
Keep in mind
- Neck pad gives heat and vibration, not neck traction
- Pin degrees not stated
- One-year limited warranty
- Assembly required
Full specs
- Price range
- Mid-range
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- Six-position pin; slope adjustable without dismounting
- Ankle system
- Patented No Pinch U-shaped holders
- Heat and massage
- Dual pads, one for the neck and one for the back, two heat levels
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- FDA
- Not stated
Maker sourceFrom the maker's product page. Not stated means the maker publishes nothing.
We may earn a commission. It never changes which table we pick, or the order they appear in.
Best Premium Inversion Table: Teeter FitSpine LX9
The LX9 is the table that is easiest to get on and off, and the most expensive one on this page.

Raised boarding platformMaker source
by TEETER
Best for people for whom stepping in and locking the ankles is the hard part.
Skip it if stepping in and locking your ankles is not the hard part: the X3 gives you the same angle control for less.
Same angle system as the X3, plus a boarding platform with an arched frame. Worth the step up only if getting on and off the table is the hard part for you.
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 5 years
- Price range
- Premium
What we like
- Raised boarding platform and arched frame for getting on and off
- Same 20°, 40° and 60° marked tether as the X3
- Five-year full warranty, with a five-year extension sold separately
- Ships with a Storage Caddy and traction handles on the hinges
Keep in mind
- Otherwise identical to the X3, so you pay for the platform
- Roller hinge setting must match your body weight, per the manual
- No heat or massage
- Rated to 300 lb, max height 6 ft 6 in
Full specs
- Price range
- Premium
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- EZ-Angle tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°; full inversion with secure lockout
- Ankle system
- Deluxe EZ-Reach ankle lock with Ankle Comfort Dial
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 5 years (extension to 10 sold separately)
- FDA
- 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device
Maker sourceFrom the maker's product page. Not stated means the maker publishes nothing.
We may earn a commission. It never changes which table we pick, or the order they appear in.
X3 or LX9?
The LX9 uses the same marked 20, 40 and 60 degree tether and the same five-year warranty as the X3. What it adds is a boarding platform with an arched frame, which makes getting on and off easier.
If stepping in and locking your ankles is the hard part for you, whether from stiffness, balance or knee trouble, that is worth paying for. If it isn’t, the X3 gives you the same angle control for less. Our Teeter inversion table reviews compare the whole FitSpine range in more depth.
Best Budget Inversion Table: YOLEO Heavy Duty
If you want the lowest spend and accept some unknowns, the YOLEO is the most affordable inversion table we would put on this list.

Ratchet ankle lockListing only
by YOLEO
Best for buyers under 265 lb who want the lowest spend and accept some unknowns.
Skip it if you weigh near or over 265 lb, or want a published height range: the ITX9600 is the better budget choice.
The cheapest table here that still ratchets the ankle clamp shut, which is the part a budget frame usually gives up. Two things to know before you save the money: YOLEO recommends it for people up to 265 lb, not the 300 lb the bigger brands publish, and there is no manufacturer spec sheet behind any of it, only the listing.
- Warranty
- 2 years
- Price range
- Budget
What we like
- Ratchet ankle lock with a safety lock pin
- Two-year warranty, against Innova's one year
- Adjustable rear cross bar instead of a tether
Keep in mind
- Recommended only for users up to 265 lb
- No manufacturer spec sheet, only the Amazon listing
- Height range not stated
- Angle degrees not stated
Full specs
- Price range
- Budget
- Weight capacity
- Not stated
- Maker-recommended limit
- 265 lb
- User height
- Not stated
- Angle control
- Adjustable rear cross bar instead of a tether; degrees not stated
- Ankle system
- Adjustable ratchet ankle locking system with safety lock pin
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 2 years
- FDA
- Not stated
Listing onlyFrom the retail listing; no maker spec sheet
We may earn a commission. It never changes which table we pick, or the order they appear in.
The Feature It Keeps
Budget frames usually save money on the ankle clamp. The YOLEO does not: its listing describes an adjustable ratchet ankle locking system with a safety lock pin. Neither Teeter nor Innova claims a ratchet on the tables we compared.
It also carries a two-year warranty, twice Innova’s. The listing calls it a “back stretcher machine,” which is a fair description of what any inversion table does, and the angle is set by an adjustable rear cross bar rather than a tether.
Two Things to Know Before You Save the Money
First, YOLEO recommends the table for people up to 265 lb. That is a recommendation, not a published capacity, and it is lower than the 300 lb that Teeter and Innova publish.
Second, there is no manufacturer spec sheet. YOLEO’s website sends buyers to Amazon, so every number for this table comes from the listing, and the height range is not stated at all. We consider the ratchet ankle lock a real advantage, but we can’t verify it the way we verified the Innova and Teeter specs.
YOLEO or ITX9600?
Both sit in the budget tier. Choose the YOLEO if the ratchet ankle lock and the longer warranty matter more to you than a maker spec sheet. Choose the ITX9600 if you weigh near or over 265 lb, are over 6 feet and want a published height range, or simply prefer buying from a maker that documents its product.
Best for Heavier Users: Innova ITX1200
Nearly every table we verified stops at 300 lb. The ITX1200 is the exception.

Rated to 350 lbMaker source
by Innova
Best for users who weigh more than the usual 300 lb limit.
Skip it if you are taller than 6'6": it stops there, like every table on this page.
It is the only table from either Innova or Teeter that the maker rates above 300 lb: Innova publishes 350 lb for it, where every other model in both ranges stops at 300 lb or lower.
- Weight limit
- 350 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 1 year
- Price range
- Mid-range
What we like
- 350 lb capacity, the highest in the Innova and Teeter ranges
- Adjustable stretch bars for a fuller stretch at lower slopes
- Reversible ankle holding system
- Pin with a protective cover
Keep in mind
- Only three pin positions, with degrees not stated
- One-year limited warranty
- Max height 6 ft 6 in, the same as the 300 lb models
- No heat or massage
We are not linking to this model at the moment. The specs below still hold. See the alternatives we would pick instead.
Full specs
- Price range
- Mid-range
- Weight capacity
- 350 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- Three-position pin with protective cover; degrees not stated; adjustable stretch bars for a fuller stretch at lower slopes
- Ankle system
- Reversible ankle holding system
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- FDA
- Not stated
Maker sourceFrom the maker's product page. Not stated means the maker publishes nothing.
The Only 350 lb Table We Found
Innova publishes a 350 lb capacity for the ITX1200, with a three-position pin (Innova). It is the only model from either Innova or Teeter rated above 300 lb. It also has adjustable stretch bars, which Innova says give a fuller stretch at lower slopes.
- Teeter FitSpine X3300 lb
- Innova ITX9600300 lb
- Teeter EP-560V300 lb
- Innova ITM4800300 lb
- Innova ITM5900300 lb
- Innova ITM6000300 lb
- Teeter FitSpine LX9300 lb
- YOLEO Heavy DutyNot stated, 265 lb recommended
- Innova ITX1200350 lb
Maker-recommended user weight, not a published capacity
Source: Teeter FitSpine X3, EP-560V, FitSpine LX9; Innova ITX9600, ITM4800, ITM5900, ITM6000, ITX1200; YOLEO Heavy Duty (listing).
Availability Varies
Availability of the ITX1200 changes from retailer to retailer. If you can’t find it when you check, the specs above still hold, and our guide to tables for big and tall users covers the other options for heavier users.
If you are taller than 6'6" or heavier than 350 lb
If You Are Tall
Height is a different story. Every table on this page tops out at 6’6”, and we did not find a Teeter or Innova model that publishes a higher limit. If you are taller than 6’6”, we have no pick for you here, and we would rather say that than stretch a spec. Our page on inversion tables for big, tall and large people looks further afield.
If You Weigh More Than 350 lb
The ITX1200 is the ceiling among the tables we have verified. For higher capacities, see our guide to the inversion table with a 400 lb capacity. Weight also matters beyond the frame: the authors of a report on three spinal cord injuries from inversion table falls singled out older and heavier users with weaker ankle strength as needing extra care (Jung, 2021). A frame rated for your weight does not change what your ankles have to hold.
Inversion Tables We Compared but Didn’t Pick
Some well-known models didn’t make the list. Here is why, so you can decide whether our reasons apply to you.
See the tables we considered but didn't pick
Teeter FitSpine X1
Teeter FitSpine X1Check it on Amazon (opens in a new tab)The X1 is part of Teeter’s current range and shares the five-year warranty and FDA clearance. What it lacks is the marked angles: its tether has no degree marks. Since angle control is the main reason to choose the X3, we don’t think the X1 earns its tier for most buyers. Our Teeter FitSpine X1 review sets out who it does suit.
Innova ITX9900
Innova ITX9900Check it on Amazon (opens in a new tab)On paper, the ITX9900 matches the ITX9600 on capacity, height, pin system and warranty. The differences Innova publishes are an ankle system with an extended handle and an air lumbar pad. It sits a tier above the ITX9600, and we don’t see enough in the published specs to justify that for a first table.
Teeter EP-560
Teeter EP-560VCheck it on Amazon (opens in a new tab)The EP-560 is still in Teeter’s current range, which on its own site is four models: the FitSpine X1, X3 and LX9, and the EP-560 (Teeter). The FitSpine X2 is no longer in it. We recommend the EP-560 in its heated version, the EP-560V above; without the cushion, it has no marked angles, and the X3 is the better buy. If you searched for Teeter Hang Ups, the four above are the inversion tables Teeter sells today.
Inversion Chairs, Gravity Boots, Trapezes and Other Devices
Tables are not the only way to get head-down, and each alternative changes the trade-offs. An inversion chair tilts you back while seated, but few are still made; our guide to what’s left of the inversion chair market covers them. Gravity boots hang you straight down from a bar, with no partial angle at all. A yoga trapeze lets you invert with your own strength, from a joist or a stand. If you would rather not go upside down at all, our guide to inversion table alternatives compares every other option, from back stretchers to the DEX II.
“Decompression table” gets used for several different devices, and even Teeter’s own FDA record lists a “Teeter Horizontal Decompression Table” as a separate product from its inversion tables. Simple back stretchers don’t invert you at all. Nor do crank-driven traction benches such as the Exerpeutic Traction Table, which our Exerpeutic page explains.
If you are replacing an older table from a brand that is hard to find today, our pages on Ironman, Body Champ, Stamina and Health Gear set out what each maker documented and which current table matches it.
How to Choose an Inversion Table
If none of the use cases above fits neatly, these are the questions that separate one table from another.
Look at the Ankle System First
Falls are the most serious documented risk with inversion tables, and they start at the ankles. In a 2010 recall, the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission pulled about 33,000 inversion benches from three brands after 75 reports of the ankle clamp releasing or the rotation strap breaking, including 23 injuries, some to the head and neck (CPSC, 2010). That recall covered specific older models, not any table on this page, but it shows where the failure point is.
Our page on inversion table side effects covers the fall risk in detail.

Decide How Much Angle Control You Need
A pin works once you know where each hole puts you, and some manuals, like the ITX9600’s, give you the degrees. Degrees printed on the tether itself, as on the Teeter X3 and LX9, let you see the limit on the table from day one. If you plan to stay at shallow angles, or a doctor has given you a specific limit, marked angles are worth the step up.
Check Your Height and Weight Against the Published Range
Most tables publish 300 lb and 6’6”. Teeter’s range starts at 4’8”, Innova’s at 4’10”. If you are near either end, stay inside the published range, and treat YOLEO’s 265 lb as the limit on that model.
A Safety Note for Older Users and Anyone With a Health Condition
Age alone is not a reason to avoid inversion, but it is a reason to be careful. The authors of a 2021 case series recommend sessions under one minute and an angled pillow or rubber ramp under the head, so that a slip becomes a slide rather than a fall onto the top of the head (Jung, 2021). Inverting also raises blood pressure: in a small trial, two minutes upside down raised both systolic and diastolic pressure in healthy young women (Haskvitz, 1986).
Teeter’s own list tells users with conditions including high blood pressure, glaucoma, osteoporosis and hernias not to invert until a licensed physician approves (Teeter). If any of that applies to you, our inversion table contraindications page goes through each one.
Set a Realistic Expectation
A table is a tool for traction, not a treatment with proven results for everyone. A Cochrane review published in 2013 pooled 32 trials of traction for low-back pain and found little or no effect on pain, function or return to work (Wegner, 2013). That covers traction in general, not inversion tables specifically, and some smaller studies are more encouraging. Our page on inversion table benefits sets out what the research does and does not support, so you can decide whether a table is worth buying at all before you choose which one. If your goal is back pain, our guide to inversion tables for back pain goes through the guidelines and trials in full.
Your questions, answered
Frequently Asked Questions
What's the best inversion table out there?
Choose the Innova ITX9600 if lower upfront cost matters most. Choose the Teeter FitSpine X3 if you expect to use a table for years and want its longer ankle-lock handle, five-year warranty and marked tether. Neither shows better pain relief or fewer injuries. For heat, the Teeter EP-560V. Above 300 lb, the Innova ITX1200, rated to 350 lb.
Which brand is considered the best for inversion tables?
Teeter and Innova are the two brands that publish full spec sheets, and each leads on something different. Teeter has the five-year warranty, marked 20, 40 and 60 degree angles on its X3 and LX9, and an FDA 510(k) clearance. Innova costs less, builds heat and massage into its ITM tables, and makes the one model rated to 350 lb.
Is the innova inversion table good?
For most first-time buyers, yes, as long as you know the trade-offs. Innova publishes a 300 lb capacity and a 4'10" to 6'6" height range for its core tables, and the ITX9600 adds reversible ankle holders. The downsides are a one-year limited warranty, angle degrees that appear only in the owner's manual rather than on the product page, and no FDA status on the spec sheet.
What do chiropractors say about inversion tables?
We found no survey of chiropractors on this, so we won't speak for the profession. What a practitioner can point to is the published record: a Cochrane team that pooled 32 traction trials found little or no effect on back pain, and inverting raises blood pressure. That is why many clinicians want to examine you before recommending a table at all.
Is it better to use an inversion table in the morning or at night?
No study we could find compares morning and evening sessions, so there is no evidence-based best time. What matters more is that you are alert, steady on your feet and not drowsy from medication, because losing grip or balance is how falls happen. Pick the time of day when you are least likely to be rushed or tired.
How long should you lay on an inversion table?
Less than a minute per session is the only published guidance we found tied to injury risk. It comes from the authors of a report on three spinal cord injuries after inversion table falls. That is their recommendation, not a clinical consensus, and your own doctor may set a different limit if you have a condition that inversion affects.
16 sources used for this guide
Each linked to the original. Citations in the text jump here.
View sources
Innova. ITX1200 Inversion Table. innovaproductsinc.com, product page.
Innova. ITX9600 Heavy Duty Deluxe Inversion Therapy Table, Owner's Manual (version 1709AJJ). Innova Products Inc., owner's manual.
Teeter. EP-560 Inversion Table. teeter.com, product page.
Teeter. Heat & Vibration Comfort Cushion. teeter.com, product page.
Teeter. FitSpine X1 Inversion Table. teeter.com, product page.
FDA. 510(k) Premarket Notification K162702: Teeter Manual Inversion Table. U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 510(k) database, decision date December 30, 2016.
FDA. Device classification, product code HST: Apparatus, Traction, Non-Powered. U.S. Food and Drug Administration, device classification database (openFDA), 21 CFR 888.5850.
Teeter. Our Story. teeter.com, About.
Kassay A, Soliman MAR, Jhawar BS. Recommendations for inversion table therapy. Disability and Rehabilitation 2023;45(22):3779-3782.
Teeter. Return Policy. teeter.com, Return Policy.
Jung SH, Hwang JM, Kim CH. Inversion Table Fall Injury, the Phantom Menace: Three Case Reports on Cervical Spinal Cord Injury. Healthcare (Basel) 2021;9(5):492.
Teeter. Product sitemap. teeter.com/product-sitemap.xml.
CPSC. ICON Health & Fitness Recalls Inversion Benches Due to Fall Hazard. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, cpsc.gov, recall 10-210, April 28, 2010.
Haskvitz EM, Hanten WP. Blood pressure response to inversion traction. Physical Therapy 1986;66(9):1361-1364.
Teeter. Are there health issues that would prevent me from inverting?. teeter.com, Support Center (the same list appears in the owner's manual).
Wegner I, Widyahening IS, van Tulder MW et al. Traction for low-back pain with or without sciatica. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2013, CD003010.