Review
Teeter EP-560 Inversion Table: The ComforTrak Table, Its Heat Cushion, and How It Compares With the X3
By the IntoInversion teamUpdated
- 16 sources
- 10 min read
We earn from qualifying purchases made through our links.


Our pick if you want heat on a Teeter
Teeter EP-560V
Teeter’s older ComforTrak table, now sold mainly as the EP-560V with a heat and vibration cushion. Buy it for the heat. If you don’t want heat, the FitSpine X3 gives you marked angles and an easier ankle lock instead.
- The only current Teeter sold with a heat and vibration cushion in the box
- Five-year full warranty on the table and FDA 510(k) clearance
- Rated to 300 lb, for users 4 ft 8 in to 6 ft 6 in
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 5 years
- Price range
- Mid-range
Maker sourceSpecs from the maker's own product page

Better if you don't need heat
Choose it if you are new to inversion and want to set 20°, 40° or 60° before you lie back, with an ankle lock that needs less bending. Skip it if heat and vibration are the reason you are buying: the X3 has no heat as standard.
This look at the Teeter EP-560 inversion table reads it from Teeter’s own product page, its spec table and its published answers to buyers. We did not test the EP-560 ourselves, and we may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. That does not decide which table we point you to.
What the Teeter EP-560 Inversion Table Is
The EP-560 is the table many people picture when they think of a Teeter: a steel A-frame, a smooth backrest that tilts on two hinges, and ankle cups at the foot. It belongs to Teeter’s ComforTrak series, which is older than the FitSpine range that now sits at the top of the line.
Still on Sale, in Two Versions
Teeter’s own product sitemap lists four inversion tables for sale today: the FitSpine X1, X3 and LX9, and the EP-560 (Teeter). So the EP-560 is not a discontinued model. On teeter.com it comes in two styles: the standard table, item E61006FB, and the table with a Heat and Vibration Comfort Cushion, item E61006FBV (Teeter).
The second item number explains the name you will see on Amazon: the EP-560V is the EP-560 with the cushion in the box. The V version is the one we link to on this page, and the one this review is mostly about.
The ComforTrak Backrest
Teeter describes the ComforTrak backrest as a “firm, flexible surface” that it says deepens the stretch more than any other inversion table, with grip-and-stretch handholds built into the backrest and the frame (Teeter). That is the maker’s claim, not a measurement. Nobody has published a test that compares the ComforTrak bed with Teeter’s newer FlexTech bed, so we won’t rank them.
What we can say is what the bed is for. It is smooth rather than grippy, so your body can slide slightly as you tilt, and it carries the same accessories as the FitSpine tables: a Lumbar Bridge, Acupressure Nodes and a headrest pillow.
Teeter EP-560 Specifications
Here is everything Teeter publishes for the EP-560, set against the FitSpine X3, which is the table most buyers weigh it against.
| Spec | Editor's choice Teeter EP-560VMid-range, price tier 2 of 3Maker source | Teeter FitSpine X3Premium, price tier 3 of 3Maker source |
|---|---|---|
| Weight capacity | 300 lb | 300 lb |
| User height | 4'8" to 6'6" | 4'8" to 6'6" |
| Angle control | Angle tether, degrees not stated; full inversion with secure lockout | EZ-Angle tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°; full inversion with secure lockout |
| Ankle system | Ergo-Embrace wrap-around ankle cups, spring-loaded T-pin closure, Ankle Comfort Dial | Deluxe EZ-Reach ankle lock, extra-long handle, micro-adjusting closure |
| Heat and massage | Removable Heat & Vibration Comfort Cushion included: six vibration motors, two vibration levels, heat with a 20-minute auto shut-off, mains adapter | None |
| Warranty | 5 years on the table; the heat cushion has its own 1-year warranty | 5 years (extension to 10 sold separately) |
| FDA | 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device | 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device |
| Assembly and setup | BILT app 3D assembly instructions | 85% pre-assembled, BILT app instructions (brand-wide claim) |
| Buy | See today's price: Teeter EP-560V on Amazon (opens in a new tab) | See today's price: Teeter FitSpine X3 on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
Editor's choiceTeeter EP-560VMaker source- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- Angle tether, degrees not stated; full inversion with secure lockout
- Ankle system
- Ergo-Embrace wrap-around ankle cups, spring-loaded T-pin closure, Ankle Comfort Dial
- Heat and massage
- Removable Heat & Vibration Comfort Cushion included: six vibration motors, two vibration levels, heat with a 20-minute auto shut-off, mains adapter
- Warranty
- 5 years on the table; the heat cushion has its own 1-year warranty
- FDA
- 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device
- Assembly and setup
- BILT app 3D assembly instructions
Teeter FitSpine X3Maker source- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- EZ-Angle tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°; full inversion with secure lockout
- Ankle system
- Deluxe EZ-Reach ankle lock, extra-long handle, micro-adjusting closure
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 5 years (extension to 10 sold separately)
- FDA
- 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device
- Assembly and setup
- 85% pre-assembled, BILT app instructions (brand-wide claim)
Maker source from the maker's own page or manual, not independently testedListing only retail listing, no maker spec sheetNot stated the maker publishes nothing
Capacity, Height and Weight
Teeter lists the EP-560 for users from 4 ft 8 in to 6 ft 6 in (142 to 198 cm) and up to 300 lb (136 kg). The table itself weighs 59.0 lb (26.7 kg) (Teeter). On the same page, a Teeter product expert answering a buyer adds two details the spec table leaves out: the 300 lb rating is given “at a 400% safety rating,” and the weight range starts at 89 lb.
For comparison, Teeter lists the FitSpine X3 at 65.8 lb (Teeter). If you plan to fold the table away and bring it back out often, the EP-560 is the lighter of the two by about 7 lb.
Dimensions, Folded and in Use
Teeter publishes four sets of dimensions for the EP-560 (length x width x height) (Teeter):
| Dimension | EP-560 |
|---|---|
| In use, at full inversion | 84.0 x 28.8 x 86.0 in |
| Upright, not in use | 60.0 x 28.8 x 58.5 in |
| Folded for storage | 20.0 x 28.8 x 66.0 in |
| In the shipping box | 48.5 x 30.0 x 8.9 in |
Warranty, Returns and FDA Status
The table carries Teeter’s five-year full warranty, with an extension of another five years sold separately (Teeter). Bought from Teeter directly, it can be returned within 90 days of delivery for a full refund in original condition; used or damaged returns get up to 50% (Teeter). If you buy on Amazon, Amazon’s return policy applies.
Teeter’s inversion tables are cleared under FDA 510(k) number K162702 (FDA, 2016). The record names the “Teeter Manual Inversion Table” rather than the EP-560 by model, so the clearance covers the range. The device type, a non-powered traction apparatus, sits in Class I, the FDA’s lowest-risk class (FDA). That is a risk category and an equivalence review, not proof that the table relieves pain.
The Heat and Vibration Cushion
The heat is the reason the EP-560 is still worth a page of its own. No FitSpine table has heat as standard, and the EP-560 is the only current Teeter offered with a heat cushion in the package (Teeter).
What the Cushion Does
Teeter’s page for the cushion lists six vibration motors with two intensity levels, and heat that is controlled separately from the vibration. The heat shuts off automatically after 20 minutes and has overheat protection. The controls sit on the cushion itself, so you can change them while you are inverted (Teeter).
The cushion is a foam topper, 41.60 x 15.75 x 1.97 inches, that weighs about 2.3 lb. It clips to the bed with four attachment nodes that slide in the bed’s tracks, and it runs from a mains power adapter. Teeter publishes vibration levels, but it does not publish heat levels or a temperature.
The One-Year Warranty on the Heat
Here is the detail most write-ups of the EP-560 leave out. The cushion page lists a one-year full warranty for the cushion (Teeter), while the five years on the EP-560 page cover the table. Teeter’s EP-560 page does not say whether the cushion inside the EP-560V bundle inherits the table’s five years.
Can You Add Heat to a FitSpine Instead?
Yes. Teeter sells the same kind of cushion separately, in two versions. The FitSpine version fits the X1, X2, X3, LX7 and LX9 among others, and the EP-Series version fits the EP-560, EP-860, EP-960 and EP-970 (Teeter). So the choice is not “EP-560 with heat or X3 without.” You can buy an X3 and add the FitSpine cushion later, if you decide you want it. If you already own an older EP table, our page on the Teeter EP-960 covers what its manual says, and the FitSpine X1 review covers the entry FitSpine.
That makes the EP-560V a simpler purchase rather than a unique one: one box, one price, heat from the first session.
EP-560 vs X3: What Actually Differs
Capacity, height range, the five-year warranty and the FDA clearance are the same on the two tables. Three things are not.
The Angle Strap
The EP-560 has an angle tether that lets you set a limit for partial inversion (Teeter). It is not marked in degrees. You shorten or lengthen it, lie back, and find where it stops. The X3’s EZ-Angle tether is marked at 20, 40 and 60 degrees (Teeter), so you can set a shallow angle before you get on and know where you will stop.
For a first-time user, that is the biggest practical difference. Teeter’s own advice is to begin with one to two minutes per session “and advance only as you feel comfortable” (Teeter, 2014). A marked strap lets you advance the angle the same way, one known step at a time, instead of by guesswork.
These are product settings, not a recommended progression. Follow the current manual and any restrictions given by your clinician.
The Ankle Lock
The EP-560 uses Ergo-Embrace ankle cups with a spring-loaded closure and a T-shaped grip, plus an Ankle Comfort Dial with a high and a low setting (Teeter). That is the same style of ankle system as the entry FitSpine X1 (Teeter). The X3 uses the Deluxe EZ-Reach lock, with an extra-long handle and a micro-adjusting closure.
Teeter publishes no failure data for either lock, so we can’t call one safer. What the EZ-Reach does is reduce how far you have to bend to close it. If you are stiff, that matters.
The Bed and the Weight
The EP-560 has the ComforTrak backrest; the X3 has FlexTech on an 8-point floating suspension. And the EP-560 is about 7 lb lighter. Neither difference changes how the table inverts you.

Heat cushion on a five-year tableMaker source
by TEETER
Best for people who want heat and vibration in the box, on a table with a five-year warranty.
Skip it if you want marked angles or an ankle lock that needs less bending: the X3 has both, and heat can be added to it later.
Heat and vibration on a cushion that covers the backrest, on a table with Teeter's five-year frame warranty and 510(k) clearance. The cushion itself carries one year, the same as Innova's heat tables, so the extra money buys the table, not a longer warranty on the heat.
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 5 years
- Price range
- Mid-range
What we like
- Heat and six-motor vibration cushion included, and it comes off when you want a firm backrest
- Five-year full warranty on the table, against one year on Innova's
- Teeter's tables are FDA 510(k) cleared under K162702
- Rated to 300 lb, for users 4 ft 8 in to 6 ft 6 in
Keep in mind
- The heat cushion carries only a one-year warranty
- Teeter publishes vibration levels but no heat levels
- Tether angles are not marked in degrees, unlike the X3 and LX9
- Costs more than Innova's built-in heat tables
Full specs
- Price range
- Mid-range
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- Angle tether, degrees not stated; full inversion with secure lockout
- Ankle system
- Ergo-Embrace wrap-around ankle cups, spring-loaded T-pin closure, Ankle Comfort Dial
- Heat and massage
- Removable Heat & Vibration Comfort Cushion included: six vibration motors, two vibration levels, heat with a 20-minute auto shut-off, mains adapter
- Warranty
- 5 years on the table; the heat cushion has its own 1-year warranty
- FDA
- 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device
Maker sourceFrom the maker's product page. Not stated means the maker publishes nothing.
We may earn a commission. It never changes which table we pick, or the order they appear in.

Long ankle-lock handle, 5-year warrantyMaker source
by TEETER
Best for first-time users who want to set a shallow angle in degrees before they get on.
Skip it if you want heat from day one without buying a separate cushion.
What the premium over a cheaper table buys is the longer ankle-lock handle, the 5-year warranty against Innova's 1 year, and a tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°. The Innova ITX9600 also lets you set a limit with a pin whose degrees are listed in its manual, so a marked angle is not exclusive to Teeter.
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 5 years
- Price range
- Premium
What we like
- Tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°, set before you get on
- Five-year full warranty, against Innova's one year
- Teeter's tables are FDA 510(k) cleared under K162702
- EZ-Reach ankle lock with an extra-long handle
Keep in mind
- No heat or massage
- No raised boarding platform, unlike the LX9
- Rated to 300 lb, max height 6 ft 6 in
Full specs
- Price range
- Premium
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- EZ-Angle tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°; full inversion with secure lockout
- Ankle system
- Deluxe EZ-Reach ankle lock, extra-long handle, micro-adjusting closure
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 5 years (extension to 10 sold separately)
- FDA
- 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device
Maker sourceFrom the maker's product page. Not stated means the maker publishes nothing.
We may earn a commission. It never changes which table we pick, or the order they appear in.
How to Use the EP-560 Safely
The EP-560 is a gravity table: you balance it with your arms and it rotates when you shift your weight. Two settings decide how it behaves, and both are worth getting right before your first session.
Height and Roller Hinge
The main shaft is set to your height, and the roller hinge has three settings that change how readily the bed turns (Teeter). Teeter’s own customer service, answering an owner whose table would not rotate back far enough, pointed to exactly these two adjustments: shorten the height on the main shaft by one to two inches, or change the roller hinge setting. Set them with a helper nearby the first time.
Start Short and Shallow
Teeter’s guidance is to begin with one to two minutes per session, and it adds that inverting more often matters more than inverting for longer (Teeter, 2014). Independent advice is more cautious. The authors of a 2021 case series describe three patients who fell from inversion tables and suffered cervical spinal cord injuries, and they recommend sessions under one minute (Jung, 2021). Three cases can’t tell you how often this happens. They do tell you it happens, and that the ankles are where it starts.
Who Should Not Use It
Teeter tells users not to invert until a licensed physician approves if they have high blood pressure, heart or circulatory conditions, glaucoma, a history of retinal detachment, osteoporosis, fractures or orthopedic implants, hernias, severe acid reflux, pregnancy or recent surgery, among other conditions (Teeter).
Some of that list rests on measurements. In a study of 60 healthy women, two minutes of inversion raised both systolic and diastolic blood pressure significantly (Haskvitz, 1986). After five minutes fully inverted, eye pressure roughly doubled, from 16.8 to 32.9 mmHg in healthy eyes and from 21.3 to 37.6 mmHg in eyes with glaucoma (Weinreb, 1984). Those are temporary rises, but they are the reason glaucoma and hypertension head the list. Pregnancy is on Teeter’s list as a caution; we found no study that measured inversion in pregnancy, which is a reason to skip it, not a reason to try. A heat cushion doesn’t change any of this. Our page on who should not use an inversion table goes through the full list.
What the EP-560 Can and Can’t Do for Back Pain
Teeter says its tables are indicated for ten back pain conditions. That is a statement of intended use under the 510(k), not a trial result.
The Evidence on Traction
The broadest evidence is a Cochrane review of 32 trials with 2,762 people, which found traction of any kind makes little or no difference to pain, function or return to work in low-back pain (Wegner, 2013). That covers traction in general, not inversion or Teeter specifically.
The Evidence on Inversion
The more encouraging inversion data come from a 2021 registry: 74% of patients (49 of 66) reported less pain at follow-up and the median pain score fell from 6 to 3 (Mendelow, 2021). Each patient was compared with their own earlier scores, without a control group, and Teeter supplied the tables and funded the study’s administrator; the authors state the analysis was independent. So it can’t separate the table from the natural improvement many back problems show with time. We go through both studies in what inversion tables are actually shown to do, and our page on inversion tables for back pain sets them beside the guidelines.
Where the Heat Fits
Teeter presents the cushion as relaxation: heat to soothe muscles and vibration as massage (Teeter). We found no study of a heated inversion table, so treat it as comfort. If heat helps you relax into a session, that is a fair reason to buy it. It isn’t a medical reason.
When the EP-560 Isn’t the Right Choice
If You Don’t Care About Heat
Then the case for the EP-560 mostly disappears. The X3 has the marked angles and the easier ankle lock, at the same capacity and warranty. Our Teeter inversion table reviews put all four current models side by side.
If You Weigh More Than 300 lb
Every current Teeter is rated to 300 lb. Innova publishes a 350 lb capacity for its ITX1200, with a user height range of 4’10” to 6’6” (Innova). Our guide to tables for big, tall and heavier users covers the options above that line.
If Price Comes First
Innova builds heat into several of its tables at a lower price tier, with a one-year warranty on the whole table. Our Innova inversion table guide compares them, and the best inversion tables page puts both brands next to each other.
The Verdict on the Teeter EP-560
The Teeter EP-560 is a well-documented table with the same 300 lb rating, five-year warranty and FDA clearance as the FitSpine range. What it does not have is the X3’s marked angles or its easier ankle lock.
That makes it a narrow recommendation. Buy the EP-560V if you want heat and vibration in the box and are happy to set your angle by feel. Register the cushion, because its warranty is one year, not five. If heat is not the point, the X3 is the better Teeter, and you can still add a cushion to it later.
Your questions, answered
Frequently Asked Questions
How much weight can a Teeter hang up hold?
Teeter rates its current tables, the EP-560 included, for users up to 300 lb and between 4 ft 8 in and 6 ft 6 in tall. On the EP-560 page, a Teeter product expert adds that the 300 lb figure carries a 400% safety rating and that the working range starts at 89 lb. Above 300 lb, no current Teeter table is rated for you.
Does the Teeter hang up actually work?
It works as a machine: it tips you to the angle you set and lets gravity pull along your spine. Whether that eases back pain is less certain. Traction trials pooled by Cochrane showed little or no benefit, and the more hopeful inversion data come from a registry without a control group. Treat relief as possible, not guaranteed.
How many minutes should you stay on an inversion table?
Start with a minute or two at a shallow angle. Teeter's guidance has beginners build slowly from short sessions, while the surgeons who reported three fall injuries in 2021 advised keeping each session under a minute to limit the load on your ankles. Pick the shorter number while you are learning, and let your doctor set your limit if you have a condition.
What are the downsides of using an inversion table?
Your blood pressure and the pressure inside your eyes rise while you are head down, and a slipped ankle can drop you onto your head. That makes inversion a poor fit for people with hypertension, glaucoma, heart disease or a pregnancy. On the EP-560 specifically, add an unmarked angle strap and a heat cushion with only one year of warranty.
What's the best brand of inversion table?
There is no single answer, but Teeter is the brand we start with because its tables carry a five-year warranty and an FDA 510(k) clearance, and it publishes full specs. Innova costs less and builds heat into more models, with a one-year warranty. If you weigh over 300 lb, the brand question changes, because Innova rates its ITX1200 to 350 lb.
16 sources used for this guide
Each linked to the original. Citations in the text jump here.
View sources
Teeter. EP-560 Inversion Table. teeter.com, product page.
Teeter. Heat & Vibration Comfort Cushion. teeter.com, product page.
Teeter. Product sitemap. teeter.com/product-sitemap.xml.
Teeter. FitSpine X3 Inversion Table. teeter.com, product page.
Teeter. FitSpine X1 Inversion Table. teeter.com, product page.
FDA. 510(k) Premarket Notification K162702: Teeter Manual Inversion Table. U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 510(k) database, decision date December 30, 2016.
FDA. Device classification, product code HST: Apparatus, Traction, Non-Powered. U.S. Food and Drug Administration, device classification database (openFDA), 21 CFR 888.5850.
Teeter. Return Policy. teeter.com, Return Policy.
Teeter. FAQ: Invert How Long And How Often?. teeter.com blog, 2014 (updated 2025).
Jung SH, Hwang JM, Kim CH. Inversion Table Fall Injury, the Phantom Menace: Three Case Reports on Cervical Spinal Cord Injury. Healthcare (Basel) 2021;9(5):492.
Haskvitz EM, Hanten WP. Blood pressure response to inversion traction. Physical Therapy 1986;66(9):1361-1364.
Weinreb RN, Cook J, Friberg TR. Effect of inverted body position on intraocular pressure. American Journal of Ophthalmology 1984;98(6):784-787.
Teeter. Are there health issues that would prevent me from inverting?. teeter.com, Support Center (the same list appears in the owner's manual).
Wegner I, Widyahening IS, van Tulder MW et al. Traction for low-back pain with or without sciatica. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2013, CD003010.
Mendelow AD, Gregson BA, Mitchell P et al. Lumbar disc disease: the effect of inversion on clinical symptoms and a comparison of the rate of surgery after inversion therapy with the rate of surgery in neurosurgery controls. Journal of Physical Therapy Science 2021;33(11):801-808.
Innova. ITX1200 Inversion Table. innovaproductsinc.com, product page.