Buying guide
Which Innova Inversion Table Should You Buy? Every Model Compared, Plus Innova vs Teeter
We earn from qualifying purchases made through our links. How we make money


Our pick among Innova tables
Innova ITX9600
For most people, the right Innova inversion table: it is the entry model, and on paper it inverts exactly like the pricier ones.
- Same 300 lb rating and 4'10" to 6'6" range as the pricier Innova models
- Reversible ankle holders, a feature the others lack
- The owner's manual labels the pin settings from 15° to 85°
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 1 year
- Price range
- Budget
VerifiedSpecs from the maker's own product page

Best Innova with heat
Choose it if you want heat built in and your pain sits low in the back; for the whole spine or the neck, step up to the ITM5900 or ITM6000. Skip it if heat is not the reason you are buying: the ITX9600 inverts the same way for less.

Best Innova over 300 lb
Choose it if you weigh more than 300 lb: it is the only Innova rated higher, at 350 lb. Skip it if you want fine angle steps: it uses a three-position pin rather than six.
Choosing an Innova inversion table comes down to three questions: do you want heat in the backrest, where on your back do you want it, and how much do you weigh. We have not tested these tables; what we did was read Innova’s product pages and its owner’s manual line by line, and set them against each other and against Teeter’s.
Innova Inversion Table Models at a Glance
This is every Innova model we have a verified spec sheet for, straight from the maker’s own product pages. Where Innova does not publish something, the table says so instead of guessing.
| Spec | Editor's choice Innova ITX9600Budget, price tier 1 of 3Verified | Innova ITM4800Mid-range, price tier 2 of 3Verified | Innova ITM5900Mid-range, price tier 2 of 3Verified | Innova ITM6000Mid-range, price tier 2 of 3Verified | Innova ITX9900Mid-range, price tier 2 of 3Verified | Innova ITX1200Mid-range, price tier 2 of 3Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Weight capacity | 300 lb | 300 lb | 300 lb | 300 lb | 300 lb | 350 lbHighest here |
| User height | 4'10" to 6'6" | 4'10" to 6'6" | 4'10" to 6'6" | 4'10" to 6'6" | 4'10" to 6'6" | 4'10" to 6'6" |
| Ankle system | Reversible ankle holders (foam rollers and U-shaped holders can trade places) | Ergonomic ankle holding system, front and rear U-shaped holders | Ergonomic ankle holding system designed to reduce pressure on the ankle | Patented No Pinch U-shaped holders | Ankle holding system with extended handle | Reversible ankle holding system |
| Heat and massage | None | Heat and vibration on a lumbar band, adjustable position | Vertical heat and massage pad covering the entire spine | Dual pads, one for the neck and one for the back, two heat levels | None | None |
| Warranty | 1 year limited | 1 year limited | 1 year limited | 1 year limited | 1 year limited | 1 year limited |
| Angle control | Pin with protective cover; the manual labels the settings 15°, 30°, 45°, 60° and 85° (the product page calls it a six-position pin) | Six-position pin with protective cover; degrees not stated | Six-position pin with protective cover; degrees not stated | Six-position pin; slope adjustable without dismounting | Six-position pin with protective cover; degrees not stated | Three-position pin with protective cover; degrees not stated; adjustable stretch bars for a fuller stretch at lower slopes |
| FDA | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Assembly and setup | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Assembly required | Not stated | Not stated |
| Buy | See today's price: Innova ITX9600 on Amazon (opens in a new tab) | See today's price: Innova ITM4800 on Amazon (opens in a new tab) | See today's price: Innova ITM5900 on Amazon (opens in a new tab) | See today's price: Innova ITM6000 on Amazon (opens in a new tab) | See today's price: Innova ITX9900 on Amazon (opens in a new tab) | See today's price: Innova ITX1200 on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
Editor's choiceInnova ITX9600- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Ankle system
- Reversible ankle holders (foam rollers and U-shaped holders can trade places)
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- Angle control
- Pin with protective cover; the manual labels the settings 15°, 30°, 45°, 60° and 85° (the product page calls it a six-position pin)
- FDA
- Not stated
- Assembly and setup
- Not stated
Innova ITM4800- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Ankle system
- Ergonomic ankle holding system, front and rear U-shaped holders
- Heat and massage
- Heat and vibration on a lumbar band, adjustable position
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- Angle control
- Six-position pin with protective cover; degrees not stated
- FDA
- Not stated
- Assembly and setup
- Not stated
Innova ITM5900- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Ankle system
- Ergonomic ankle holding system designed to reduce pressure on the ankle
- Heat and massage
- Vertical heat and massage pad covering the entire spine
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- Angle control
- Six-position pin with protective cover; degrees not stated
- FDA
- Not stated
- Assembly and setup
- Not stated
Innova ITM6000- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Ankle system
- Patented No Pinch U-shaped holders
- Heat and massage
- Dual pads, one for the neck and one for the back, two heat levels
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- Angle control
- Six-position pin; slope adjustable without dismounting
- FDA
- Not stated
- Assembly and setup
- Assembly required
Innova ITX9900- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Ankle system
- Ankle holding system with extended handle
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- Angle control
- Six-position pin with protective cover; degrees not stated
- FDA
- Not stated
- Assembly and setup
- Not stated
Innova ITX1200- Weight capacity
- 350 lbHighest here
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Ankle system
- Reversible ankle holding system
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- Angle control
- Three-position pin with protective cover; degrees not stated; adjustable stretch bars for a fuller stretch at lower slopes
- FDA
- Not stated
- Assembly and setup
- Not stated
Verified from the maker's own page or manualClaimed retail listing onlyNot stated the maker publishes nothing
What Is the Same on Every Model
Read across the rows and most of them do not move. Five of the six models publish 300 lb and 4’10” to 6’6”. All six carry the same one-year limited warranty. None of them states an FDA status.
And the product pages describe the angle only as a numbered pin with a protective cover, without degrees. The degrees are in the manuals: the ITX9600’s labels its settings 15°, 30°, 45°, 60° and 85°. We have read that manual, not the others.
That sameness is useful information. It means the entry ITX9600 is not a weaker table than the heat models in any way Innova documents. You are not paying for a sturdier frame or a higher rating when you move up the range. You are paying for a heated pad, a different ankle holder, or, on the ITX1200, a higher weight rating.
What Actually Changes
Three rows do the work. Heat and massage separates the ITM models from the ITX models. The ankle system changes on almost every model, from reversible holders on the ITX9600 to the “No Pinch” U-shaped holders on the ITM6000. And weight capacity changes once, on the ITX1200.
See where Innova's own listings disagree
Where Innova’s Own Listings Disagree
A brand page is only as good as its numbers, and Innova’s do not always agree with each other. These are the conflicts we found, and what we publish instead:
- ITX9600 capacity. One listing bullet says 350 lb; the maker’s product page says 300 lb. We publish 300. The same listing mentions a three-position pin in one place and six in another; the three-position pin belongs to the ITX1200. The product page says six, and the owner’s manual labels five settings (15° to 85°), which is what we publish.
- ITM5900 pin. Its description says five positions; everything else on the page says six. We publish six.
- ITM4800 dimensions. One product page gives three different sets of dimensions for the same table. We publish none of them.
- ITX9900 dimensions. The only dimensions Innova publishes describe a table far too small for a person to lie on, so we list them as not stated.
None of this means the tables are badly made. It means Innova’s product copy is inconsistent, and a number you read on a listing is worth checking against the maker’s page before it decides your purchase. For weight capacity especially, go by the lower figure.
The Innova Picks, by What You Need
Every card below links to a model we have a spec sheet for. The order follows the reader, not the price: the cheapest table that does the job comes first.
If You Just Want to Invert: ITX9600
The ITX9600 is Innova’s entry model and the one most people should buy. It publishes the same 300 lb rating and height range as the rest of the range, a pin whose settings the manual labels from 15° to 85°, and one feature the others lack: reversible ankle holders. The foam rollers and the U-shaped holders can swap places, so you can move the softer roller to the front once hanging by your ankles stops feeling new.

Reversible ankle holdersVerified
by Innova
Best for people who just want to invert, with reversible ankle holders.
Skip it if you want heat built in: that is what the ITM models add.
It is the only entry table here with reversible ankle holders, so the foam roller can move to the front once inverting stops feeling new. One of its listing bullets says 350 lb; the maker's page says 300 lb, and 300 is what we publish.
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 1 year
- Price range
- Budget
What we like
- Ankle holders reverse, so the foam roller can move to the front
- Manual labels the pin angles, from 15° up to 85°
- Pin with a protective cover, left at 15° after assembly
- Rated to 300 lb in both the manual and on the maker's page
Keep in mind
- One-year limited warranty, non-transferable
- No heat or massage
- Manual shows five pin angles, the product page says six
- Needs 2 ft clear at each side and 3 ft front and back
Full specs
- Price range
- Budget
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- Pin with protective cover; the manual labels the settings 15°, 30°, 45°, 60° and 85° (the product page calls it a six-position pin)
- Ankle system
- Reversible ankle holders (foam rollers and U-shaped holders can trade places)
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- FDA
- Not stated
VerifiedFrom the maker's product page. Not stated means the maker publishes nothing.
We may earn a commission. It never changes which table we pick, or the order they appear in.
What it does not have is heat, and Innova publishes no assembly time. Its assembled size and weight are in the manual, not on the product page. We cover it in depth, including the manual and the listing conflicts, in our full ITX9600 review.
If You Weigh More Than 300 lb: ITX1200
This is the one Innova that changes the weight answer. Innova publishes a 350 lb capacity for the ITX1200, the only table in its range above 300 lb, with the same 4’10” to 6’6” height range (Innova). No Teeter model we have specs for goes past 300 lb, so among the two brands this is the only option for a heavier user.

Rated to 350 lbVerified
by Innova
Best for heavier users who need a rating above 300 lb.
Skip it if you want fine angle steps: it uses a three-position pin rather than six.
It is the only table from either Innova or Teeter that the maker rates above 300 lb: Innova publishes 350 lb for it, where every other model in both ranges stops at 300 lb or lower.
- Weight limit
- 350 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 1 year
- Price range
- Mid-range
What we like
- 350 lb capacity, the highest in the Innova and Teeter ranges
- Adjustable stretch bars for a fuller stretch at lower slopes
- Reversible ankle holding system
- Pin with a protective cover
Keep in mind
- Only three pin positions, with degrees not stated
- One-year limited warranty
- Max height 6 ft 6 in, the same as the 300 lb models
- No heat or massage
Full specs
- Price range
- Mid-range
- Weight capacity
- 350 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- Three-position pin with protective cover; degrees not stated; adjustable stretch bars for a fuller stretch at lower slopes
- Ankle system
- Reversible ankle holding system
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- FDA
- Not stated
VerifiedFrom the maker's product page. Not stated means the maker publishes nothing.
We may earn a commission. It never changes which table we pick, or the order they appear in.
There are trade-offs. It uses a three-position pin rather than six, so you get fewer angle steps, and Innova adds adjustable stretch bars to give a fuller stretch at lower slopes. Like every Innova, its angles are not published in degrees.
Availability also varies: it tends to go in and out of stock at the retailers, so check before you plan around it. If you are shopping at this weight, our guide to tables for big and tall users covers options beyond Innova.
If You Are Not Sure Which Group You Are In
Start from your weight. Under 300 lb, the heat question decides everything: no heat, ITX9600; heat, one of the three ITM models below. Over 300 lb, the ITX1200 is the only Innova rated for you, and a 300 lb table is not a safe compromise.
The Heat and Massage Models: ITM4800 vs ITM5900 vs ITM6000
Three Innova models build heat into the backrest, and this is the part of the range that sets the brand apart from Teeter, which sells heat on one table and as an accessory rather than across its range. Choose between the three by where your pain sits, because the frames, ratings and warranty are the same.
ITM4800: Heat on the Lower Back
The ITM4800 puts heat and vibration on a lumbar band whose position you can adjust. It is the cheapest way into a heated Innova, and the band is enough if your discomfort sits low in the back. Its ankle system uses U-shaped holders front and rear.

Lumbar heat and vibrationVerified
by Innova
Best for people whose pain sits low in the back, where the lumbar band reaches.
Skip it if your pain runs up the back rather than sitting at the base: the ITM5900 covers the whole spine.
The cheapest way into heat and massage on this list. The pad is a lumbar band, not the full spine, which is enough if your pain sits low in the back.
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 1 year
- Price range
- Mid-range
What we like
- Heat and vibration on a lumbar band you can reposition
- Front and rear U-shaped ankle holders
- Six-position pin with a protective cover
- Rated to 300 lb, for users 4 ft 10 in to 6 ft 6 in
Keep in mind
- Pad covers the lower back only, not the full spine
- Pin degrees not stated
- One-year limited warranty
Full specs
- Price range
- Mid-range
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- Six-position pin with protective cover; degrees not stated
- Ankle system
- Ergonomic ankle holding system, front and rear U-shaped holders
- Heat and massage
- Heat and vibration on a lumbar band, adjustable position
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- FDA
- Not stated
VerifiedFrom the maker's product page. Not stated means the maker publishes nothing.
We may earn a commission. It never changes which table we pick, or the order they appear in.
ITM5900: Heat Along the Whole Spine
The ITM5900 swaps the band for a vertical heat and massage pad that covers the entire spine. If your pain runs up the back rather than sitting at the base, this is the step up worth paying for. Its ankle system is designed to reduce pressure on the ankle, according to Innova.

Full-spine heat and massageVerified
by Innova
Best for people whose pain runs up the back rather than sitting at the base.
Skip it if you want heat on the neck too: only the ITM6000 has a separate neck pad.
Pick this over the ITM4800 if the pain runs up the back rather than sitting low: its pad covers the entire spine, not just a lumbar band.
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 1 year
- Price range
- Mid-range
What we like
- Heat and massage pad covers the entire spine
- Ankle holders designed to reduce pressure on the ankle
- Six-position pin with a protective cover
- Rated to 300 lb, for users 4 ft 10 in to 6 ft 6 in
Keep in mind
- No separate neck pad, unlike the ITM6000
- Pin degrees not stated
- One-year limited warranty
Full specs
- Price range
- Mid-range
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- Six-position pin with protective cover; degrees not stated
- Ankle system
- Ergonomic ankle holding system designed to reduce pressure on the ankle
- Heat and massage
- Vertical heat and massage pad covering the entire spine
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- FDA
- Not stated
VerifiedFrom the maker's product page. Not stated means the maker publishes nothing.
We may earn a commission. It never changes which table we pick, or the order they appear in.
ITM6000: Separate Neck and Back Pads
The ITM6000 is the top of the heat range, with two pads, one for the neck and one for the back, and two heat levels. Innova also says you can adjust the slope without getting off the table, and it uses patented “No Pinch” U-shaped ankle holders. The neck pad is the reason to buy it, and the only one: if your neck is not part of the problem, the ITM5900 covers the back for less. What that pad can and can’t do for a sore neck is covered in our guide to inversion and neck pain.

Separate neck heat padVerified
by Innova
Best for people who want heat on the neck as well as the back.
Skip it if your neck is not part of the problem: the ITM5900 covers the back for less.
The only table here with a separate neck pad. That is the reason to pay for it, and the only one.
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 1 year
- Price range
- Mid-range
What we like
- Separate neck and back pads, with two heat levels
- Slope adjusts without getting off the table
- Patented No Pinch U-shaped ankle holders
- Rated to 300 lb, for users 4 ft 10 in to 6 ft 6 in
Keep in mind
- Neck pad gives heat and vibration, not neck traction
- Pin degrees not stated
- One-year limited warranty
- Assembly required
Full specs
- Price range
- Mid-range
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- Six-position pin; slope adjustable without dismounting
- Ankle system
- Patented No Pinch U-shaped holders
- Heat and massage
- Dual pads, one for the neck and one for the back, two heat levels
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- FDA
- Not stated
VerifiedFrom the maker's product page. Not stated means the maker publishes nothing.
We may earn a commission. It never changes which table we pick, or the order they appear in.
What Heat Does Not Change
A heated pad is a comfort feature. It does not make the table safer, stronger or better at decompressing the spine, and none of the sources we rely on tests heat on an inversion table.
The Rest of the Innova Lineup
Innova’s site lists eleven inversion tables. Six of them are covered above. The rest fall into two groups.
See the Innova models we didn't pick
ITX9900: Air Lumbar Support, Not Heat
The ITX9900 is sometimes confused with the heat models, but it has no heat or vibration. Its feature is an air lumbar support you inflate to control how much support your lower back gets, plus an ankle system with an extended handle. It publishes the same 300 lb rating, height range and six-position pin as the ITX9600.
We list its specs above but do not make it a pick, because we have no reason to prefer it for any particular reader over the cheaper ITX9600 or the heated ITM4800. If an adjustable lumbar cushion appeals to you, it is a real option; we just cannot tell you it is the better one.
Models We Have Not Verified
Innova also sells the ITM5000, ITP1000, ITX9688, ITX9700 and ITX9800. They exist and they are on Innova’s site, but we have not built a verified spec sheet for them, so we do not recommend them and we do not repeat their numbers here. If you are looking at one of them, read the specs on innovaproductsinc.com directly, not the retailer’s listing, for the reasons in the section on conflicting listings above.
Innova vs Teeter: Where Each One Wins
This is the comparison most shoppers are really making. The short version: Teeter wins on warranty, regulation and angle control; Innova wins on entry cost, heat as standard, and a higher weight rating on one model. We keep the Teeter detail short here; our Teeter inversion table reviews cover each FitSpine model in full.
Warranty: One Year Against Five
This is the largest gap between the brands. Every Innova carries a one-year limited warranty. Teeter includes a five-year full warranty on the FitSpine X1, covering repair and replacement of defects in materials, workmanship, fabrics and padding, and sells an extension of another five years separately (Teeter). Our spec sheets show the same five years on the X3 and LX9.
An inversion table holds you upside down by your ankles, so a long warranty on the parts that do that is worth something. It is the strongest single reason to pay Teeter’s higher price.
Read what Teeter's FDA clearance means, and what Innova does not claim
FDA: What Teeter’s 510(k) Means, and What Innova Does Not Claim
The FDA cleared Teeter’s manual inversion table through the 510(k) process, number K162702, decided on December 30, 2016, as “substantially equivalent,” under the device type “Apparatus, Traction, Non-Powered” (FDA, 2016). The FDA classifies that device type as Class I, its lowest-risk class (FDA).
Two limits matter. A 510(k) means equivalence to a device already on the market, not proof that inversion works. And the record names “Teeter Manual Inversion Table,” not individual models.
Innova, by contrast, does not state an FDA status anywhere we looked: not on its product pages, not in its manual. If you see “FDA” on an Innova search result on Amazon, check where it sits; the ones we found were sponsored Teeter ads placed on the page, not claims by Innova.
A 2023 regulatory commentary explains why this can be normal: the FDA has regulated inversion tables only for makers that indicated a medical use, and most makers have not made such claims (Kassay, 2023). We could not confirm which way Innova falls, so we say “not stated” rather than “not registered.”
Angle Control: Numbered Pin vs Marked Degrees
Every Innova sets its angle with a pin through numbered holes; the product pages say six on most models and three on the ITX1200. The pin is repeatable, so the same hole gives you the same angle each time. The product pages don’t say what angle each hole gives you, but the ITX9600 manual does: 15° (slight), 30° (moderate), 45° (intermediate), 60° (enhanced) and 85° (extreme). That is five labelled settings against the six the product page advertises, and the manual doesn’t explain the difference.
Teeter’s FitSpine X3 and LX9 mark their presets in degrees:
The difference is where the number lives. On the Teeter it is printed on the strap you adjust; on the ITX9600 it is in the manual, and you match it to the hole. Both let a beginner set a known, shallow limit before getting on, as long as the Innova owner keeps the manual. The Teeter X1 uses a tether without degree marks, so on this point it gives you less than either.
Heat and Entry Price: Where Innova Wins
Innova’s heat models are the reason many people look at the brand at all, and here it genuinely leads. Teeter does offer heat: it sells the EP-560 in a “Standard with Heat & Vibration” configuration, and a heat and vibration comfort cushion as an accessory (Teeter). But its FitSpine tables do not come with heat as standard. Innova builds it into three models at the budget to mid-range end of the market.
Innova also wins on the cheapest way in. The ITX9600 sits in the budget tier, and on the specs Innova publishes it matches Teeter’s FitSpine range for capacity. Teeter’s height range starts slightly lower, at 4’8” against Innova’s 4’10”, which only matters for shorter users.
Warranty, Returns and Where to Buy an Innova
What the One-Year Warranty Covers
Innova’s manual sets out the terms. The table is warranted against defects in materials and workmanship for one year from the date of purchase. The warranty applies only to the original purchaser, only when you buy from an authorized retailer for personal or household use, it is void for commercial use, and it cannot be transferred (Innova). Innova says it will repair or replace the product or the covered part, at its own option.
Two practical points follow.
Returns Go Through the Retailer
Innova’s site has no return-policy page of its own. Its navigation covers products, a learning section and an about page, and every “buy” button sends you to Amazon or Walmart. So your return window is the retailer’s, not Innova’s, and it is worth reading before you buy.
Teeter is different. Bought directly from Teeter, a table in original condition can go back within 90 days of delivery for the full item price, and returns that are damaged, missing parts or show obvious use get up to 50% (Teeter). Bought from Amazon, a Teeter follows Amazon’s policy instead.
Where Innova Sells
Innova does not sell direct. Its product pages send you to Amazon and Walmart, which is why every card on this page links to a retailer. Stock varies by model and by week, the ITX1200 especially. If you want to compare Innova against every other brand, not just Teeter, start with our overall inversion table picks.
Who Shouldn’t Use an Innova Inversion Table
This is the section no retailer listing prints, and the one to read before you order. Innova’s own manual is clear that some people should not use its tables without a doctor’s approval.
Innova’s List of 21 Conditions
The ITX9600 owner’s manual says, in capitals, not to use the inversion table without a licensed physician’s approval, and lists 21 conditions to check with your doctor first (Innova):
- Acutely swollen joints
- Overweight or extremely obese
- Bone weakness (osteoporosis)
- Pregnancy
- Cerebral sclerosis
- Recent or unhealed fractures
- Conjunctivitis
- Recent stroke or transient ischemic attack
- Glaucoma
- Retinal detachment
- Heart or circulatory disorders
- Spinal injury
- Hiatal hernia
- Surgically implanted orthopedic supports
- High blood pressure
- Use of anticoagulants, including high doses of aspirin
- Hypertension
- Medullary pins
- Middle ear infection
- Ventral hernia
- Weak ankles and/or feet
Innova adds that the list “is for reference only and it is not a complete listing.” It is a manufacturer’s caution list, not a list of conditions each proven dangerous in a study. We read this list in the ITX9600 manual; we have not read the manuals for the other models.
Other makers print much the same wording: the manual for the Exerpeutic inversion table lists nearly identical conditions.
Compare Innova's list with Teeter's
What Innova Lists That Teeter Does Not
Teeter publishes its own list, which it says is also printed in its owner’s manual (Teeter). The two overlap heavily, but they are not the same list, and Innova’s is more specific in six places.
Four items have no counterpart on Teeter’s list: weak ankles and/or feet, cerebral sclerosis, conjunctivitis and spinal injury. Two more are narrower than Teeter’s categories: Innova names ventral hernia and middle ear infection, where Teeter writes “hiatal or other hernia” and “middle or inner ear disease.” Teeter, in turn, lists things Innova does not, among them severe headaches, motion sickness, vertigo and severe acid reflux. If you have any condition on either list, the difference between brands does not matter: ask your doctor first.
For what the evidence says about each condition, blood pressure and eye pressure especially, see our page on who should not use an inversion table.
Weak Ankles: The One That Applies to Any Table
“Weak ankles and/or feet” is the item on Innova’s list most worth taking seriously, because it points at how people actually get hurt. The authors of a 2021 case series describe inversion table falls as working like a shallow-water diving injury: once ankle strength gives out or the foot slips, the user lands on the top of the head, and falls from one or two feet caused cervical spinal cord injuries in the patients they report (Jung, 2021). It is a three-case report, so it cannot tell you how often this happens. The same authors recommend keeping sessions under one minute, placing an angled pillow or rubber ramp under the head, and extra caution for older or heavier users.
That is also why the ankle system matters more than the heat pad when you compare models. Our page on inversion table side effects covers falls and the other documented risks in more detail.
Your questions, answered
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Innova a good brand inversion table?
Yes, if you judge it on what you pay for. Innova publishes the same 300 lb rating and 6'6" height ceiling as Teeter's FitSpine tables, and three of its models build heat in as standard at a mid-range price. The catches are a one-year warranty against Teeter's five, no FDA status stated anywhere, and angle degrees you have to look up in the manual rather than read off the table.
What are the key differences between the Innova and Teeter inversion tables?
Four things separate them. Warranty: Innova gives one year, Teeter five. Regulation: Teeter's tables are FDA 510(k)-cleared, while Innova states no FDA status. Angle control: Innova uses a pin, with degrees listed in the manual (15 to 85 on the ITX9600), and Teeter's X3 and LX9 print 20, 40 and 60 degrees on the tether. Heat: Innova builds it into three models, while Teeter offers it on the EP-560 or as an add-on cushion.
Which brand is considered the best for inversion tables?
No independent body ranks inversion table brands, so it comes down to what you need. Teeter is the stronger pick for a long warranty, marked angles and an FDA 510(k) clearance, which is an equivalence finding rather than proof of benefit. Innova is the stronger pick for a low entry cost, built-in heat, and the only 350 lb model between the two brands.
How much does the Innova inversion table cost?
It depends on the model, and Innova sits at the budget to mid-range end of the market. The ITX9600 is in the budget tier. The ITM4800, ITM5900, ITM6000, ITX9900 and ITX1200 are mid-range, with the heat models costing more as the pads get bigger. Amazon and Walmart prices move often, so check the live price on the retailer's page before you compare.
How do I use my innova inversion table?
Get a doctor's approval first if anything on Innova's warning list applies to you. Set the pin in a shallow position, adjust the height setting (Innova notes it may not match your actual height), lock your ankles and check the lock. Innova's instructions have you raise one arm slowly over your head to tip back and lower your arms to your thighs to return, pausing at horizontal. Keep early sessions short.
What is the Innova Advanced Heat and Massage Inversion Table?
It is the name Innova's heat models sell under, most often the ITM4800 and the ITM5900. Both publish the same 300 lb rating and height range as the entry ITX9600, and add a heated vibration pad: a lumbar band on the ITM4800, a pad covering the whole spine on the ITM5900. The ITM6000 goes further, with separate neck and back pads and two heat levels.
10 sources used for this guide
Each linked to the original. Citations in the text jump here.
View sources
Innova. ITX1200 Inversion Table. innovaproductsinc.com, product page.
Teeter. FitSpine X1 Inversion Table. teeter.com, product page.
FDA. 510(k) Premarket Notification K162702: Teeter Manual Inversion Table. U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 510(k) database, decision date December 30, 2016.
FDA. Device classification, product code HST: Apparatus, Traction, Non-Powered. U.S. Food and Drug Administration, device classification database (openFDA), 21 CFR 888.5850.
Kassay A, Soliman MAR, Jhawar BS. Recommendations for inversion table therapy. Disability and Rehabilitation 2023;45(22):3779-3782.
Teeter. EP-560 Inversion Table. teeter.com, product page.
Innova. ITX9600 Heavy Duty Deluxe Inversion Therapy Table, Owner's Manual (version 1709AJJ). Innova Products Inc., owner's manual.
Teeter. Return Policy. teeter.com, Return Policy.
Teeter. Are there health issues that would prevent me from inverting?. teeter.com, Support Center (the same list appears in the owner's manual).
Jung SH, Hwang JM, Kim CH. Inversion Table Fall Injury, the Phantom Menace: Three Case Reports on Cervical Spinal Cord Injury. Healthcare (Basel) 2021;9(5):492.