Brand guide
Stamina Inversion Tables: What Stamina Made, and What to Buy Instead
By the IntoInversion teamUpdated
- 9 sources
- 8 min read
We earn from qualifying purchases made through our links.

If you searched for a Stamina inversion table, you probably remember the brand from a table you owned or saw in a store. This page covers what that table was, according to Stamina’s own manual, what Stamina sells instead today, and which inversion tables do the same job now. We did not test these tables; every number comes from a manufacturer’s document or the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission.
The Stamina Inversion Table, From Its Manual
Stamina Products, of Springfield, Missouri, sold its table as the Gravity Inversion Therapy Table. The 2011 owner’s manual covers three model numbers, 55-1532, 55-1532A and 55-1532B (Stamina manual, 2011).
250 lb and 6 ft 6 in
The manual is plain about the limits: the table “should not be used by persons weighing more than 250 lbs” or “by persons over 6 feet 6 inches tall” (Stamina manual, 2011). That is 50 lb below the 300 lb that Teeter and Innova publish on most of their tables, which matters if you are replacing one: almost any current table from a major maker gives you more headroom.
An Angle Strap, and No Full Inversion
The angle is set two ways. Pivot arms slot into one of three holes, the lowest giving the least inversion, and nylon straps limit how far the bed can rotate. Until you have verified your height setting, the manual says to set the straps to stop the bed at “15 to 20 degrees” (Stamina manual, 2011).
The key difference from most tables sold today is what it won’t do. The manual’s warning reads: “DO NOT ALLOW table to invert past vertical,” because a table that goes past vertical can strike the frame and cause a fall (Stamina manual, 2011). There is no locked full-inversion position, and Stamina tells you to keep a gap between the bed and the front frame at all times.
A Three-Year Frame Warranty
Stamina’s warranty for this table covered “90 days on the parts and three years on the frame,” for the original purchaser buying from an authorized retailer (Stamina manual, 2011). The manual also recommends two people for assembly and says the table folds for storage once the bed is lifted off the base.
| What the manual says | Stamina Gravity Inversion Therapy Table (55-1532) |
|---|---|
| Maximum user weight | 250 lb |
| Maximum user height | 6 ft 6 in |
| Angle control | Three pivot-arm holes plus nylon straps |
| Full inversion | Not allowed: never past vertical |
| Warranty | 90 days on parts, three years on the frame |
| Use alone? | No: always have a helper |
The 2008 Stamina Recall
Anyone looking at an old Stamina table should know about this, even though the 55-1532 is not one of the model numbers it names.
What Was Recalled and Why
In January 2008, Stamina Products recalled about 2,000 units of its Inversion Therapy Table (model 55-1531) and Pro Inversion System (models 55-1536, 55-1536A and 55-1536B), after three reports of a weld in the center of the table failing while it was inverted. The company said no injuries had been reported (CPSC, 2008).
What It Means for a Used Table Today
The recall was about a structural weld, not the ankle system, and it covered those model numbers only. If you are offered a used Stamina table, read the model number on the frame or manual first. A 55-1531 or 55-1536 is one of the recalled models; our guide to inversion table replacement parts covers this recall and the others in the category, and our page on the Body Champ inversion table lists the checks to run on any used table before you lie back on it.
What Stamina Sells Today Instead
Stamina still makes back care equipment. It just isn’t inversion tables.
Forward Inversion, Decompression Chairs and Stretch Benches
On September 25, 2026, Stamina’s back health range listed five products: the inLine Forward Inversion, the EasyDecompress Pro, the EasyDecompress, the InLine Back Stretch Bench with Cervical Traction, and the InLine Back Stretch Bench (Stamina, Back Health range). None of them is a gravity inversion table that tips you back by the ankles. Our searches of Amazon US on the same day found the same thing: Stamina stretch benches and forward inversion, and no Stamina inversion table. We checked again on September 27, 2026, across Stamina’s full online catalogue and at Walmart and Target, and found the same picture. Walmart’s one Stamina result for “inversion table” was the EasyDecompress Pro, a decompression machine with “Inversion” in its listing title, and Target’s were the InLine traction and stretch benches.
The inLine Forward Inversion Is a Different Machine
The closest thing Stamina sells is the inLine Forward Inversion, which tilts you forward only, with foam thigh pads instead of ankle holders. Stamina rates it for 250 lb and users up to 6’4”, depending on torso length (Stamina). It is a forward decompression machine, not a table, and we don’t recommend it as a replacement for one. If the idea of hanging from your hips rather than your ankles appeals to you, our Teeter DEX II review covers the best-documented machine of that kind.
The Classic InLine Inversion Chair
Stamina also made the InLine Inversion Chair, model 55-1550, a seated chair that reclines. It is no longer in Stamina’s range. What happened to inversion chairs as a category, and what is left, is on our page about inversion chairs.
How the Stamina Compares With Tables Sold Today
If you owned a Stamina and are shopping again, three things have moved since its manual was written, and all three work in your favor.
More Weight Headroom
The Stamina stopped at 250 lb. Most current tables from Teeter and Innova publish 300 lb, and the Innova ITX1200 publishes 350 lb. If you were close to the Stamina’s limit, a mainstream table today gives you 50 lb or more of margin, which matters on a device that holds you by the ankles.
Full Inversion Is Now Optional, Not Forbidden
The Stamina could never go past vertical. Tables such as the Teeter FitSpine X3 lock out at full inversion, though Teeter itself advises waiting until you have spent several weeks comfortable at 60 degrees, and says some people never fully invert (Teeter, 2020). You don’t have to use the extra range, but you are no longer blocked from it.
Warranties Vary More Than Capacities
Stamina covered the frame for three years and parts for 90 days. Innova’s ITX9600 carries one year (Innova), while Teeter includes five years on its FitSpine tables (Teeter). If warranty was part of why you chose a Stamina, read that line before the price.
One Set of Beginner Rules, Three Brands
One detail stands out when you read the old manuals side by side. The Stamina manual’s advice, to “invert only 15-20 degrees to begin with,” to increase time “1-2 minutes up to ten over a period of weeks,” and to invert “two or three times a day” (Stamina manual, 2011), appears almost word for word in the Ironman Gravity 4000 manual (Ironman manual, via ManualsLib), and the Exerpeutic manual quoted on our Exerpeutic inversion table page opens with the same 15 to 20 degree rule. Our Ironman inversion table page has the rest of that manual. It reads like shared boilerplate, not advice tested for each table, which is one more reason to treat the time limits in any manual as a starting point for a conversation with your doctor.
What to Buy Instead of a Stamina Inversion Table
These three tables replace the Stamina, from the cheapest to the best documented. All three were on sale when we checked, and every one tips you back by the ankles the way the Stamina did.
On a Tight Budget: YOLEO Heavy Duty
The Stamina table was a budget table, and the YOLEO is the budget table we can recommend today. Know two things first: YOLEO recommends it for people up to 265 lb, and there is no manufacturer spec sheet, only the listing. That is still 15 lb more than the Stamina’s 250 lb limit, and its listing describes a ratchet ankle lock with a safety pin.

Ratchet ankle lockListing only
by YOLEO
Best for former Stamina shoppers on a tight budget who weigh up to 265 lb.
Skip it if you weigh more than 265 lb, or want a manufacturer spec sheet: there is only the listing.
The cheapest table here that still ratchets the ankle clamp shut, which is the part a budget frame usually gives up. Two things to know before you save the money: YOLEO recommends it for people up to 265 lb, not the 300 lb the bigger brands publish, and there is no manufacturer spec sheet behind any of it, only the listing.
- Warranty
- 2 years
- Price range
- Budget
What we like
- Ratchet ankle lock with a safety lock pin
- Two-year warranty, against Innova's one year
- Adjustable rear cross bar instead of a tether
Keep in mind
- Recommended only for users up to 265 lb
- No manufacturer spec sheet, only the Amazon listing
- Height range not stated
- Angle degrees not stated
Full specs
- Price range
- Budget
- Weight capacity
- Not stated
- Maker-recommended limit
- 265 lb
- User height
- Not stated
- Angle control
- Adjustable rear cross bar instead of a tether; degrees not stated
- Ankle system
- Adjustable ratchet ankle locking system with safety lock pin
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 2 years
- FDA
- Not stated
Listing onlyFrom the retail listing; no maker spec sheet
We may earn a commission. It never changes which table we pick, or the order they appear in.
For a First Table: Innova ITX9600
The ITX9600 gives you 50 lb more headroom than the Stamina, with a 300 lb rating and a user height range of 4’10” to 6’6”. Its manual labels the pin settings in degrees, 15, 30, 45, 60 and 85, with 15 recommended for beginners. Our Innova ITX9600 review reads the manual in full.

Reversible ankle holdersMaker source
Innova ITX9600
by Innova
Best for former Stamina owners who want a basic table with more weight headroom.
Skip it if you want more than a one-year warranty: the Teeter X3 has five.
It is the only entry table here with reversible ankle holders, so the foam roller can move to the front once inverting stops feeling new. One of its listing bullets says 350 lb; the maker's page says 300 lb, and 300 is what we publish.
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 1 year
- Price range
- Budget
What we like
- Ankle holders reverse, so the foam roller can move to the front
- Manual labels the pin angles, from 15° up to 85°
- Pin with a protective cover, left at 15° after assembly
- Rated to 300 lb in both the manual and on the maker's page
Keep in mind
- One-year limited warranty, non-transferable
- No heat or massage
- Manual shows five pin angles, the product page says six
- Needs 2 ft clear at each side and 3 ft front and back
We are not linking to this model at the moment. The specs below still hold. See the alternatives we would pick instead.
Full specs
- Price range
- Budget
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- Pin with protective cover; the manual labels the settings 15°, 30°, 45°, 60° and 85° (the product page calls it a six-position pin)
- Ankle system
- Reversible ankle holders (foam rollers and U-shaped holders can trade places)
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- FDA
- Not stated
Maker sourceFrom the maker's product page. Not stated means the maker publishes nothing.
For Warranty and Marked Angles: Teeter FitSpine X3
The X3 marks its angle tether at 20, 40 and 60 degrees, so you set the limit before you get on, and Teeter includes a five-year full warranty on its FitSpine tables (Teeter). Unlike the Stamina, it also locks out at full inversion if you ever want to go that far.

Long ankle-lock handle, 5-year warrantyMaker source
Teeter FitSpine X3
by TEETER
Best for buyers who want marked angles and the longest warranty.
Skip it if price comes first: it sits in the premium tier.
What the premium over a cheaper table buys is the longer ankle-lock handle, the 5-year warranty against Innova's 1 year, and a tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°. The Innova ITX9600 also lets you set a limit with a pin whose degrees are listed in its manual, so a marked angle is not exclusive to Teeter.
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 5 years
- Price range
- Premium
What we like
- Tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°, set before you get on
- Five-year full warranty, against Innova's one year
- Teeter's tables are FDA 510(k) cleared under K162702
- EZ-Reach ankle lock with an extra-long handle
Keep in mind
- No heat or massage
- No raised boarding platform, unlike the LX9
- Rated to 300 lb, max height 6 ft 6 in
Full specs
- Price range
- Premium
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- EZ-Angle tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°; full inversion with secure lockout
- Ankle system
- Deluxe EZ-Reach ankle lock, extra-long handle, micro-adjusting closure
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 5 years (extension to 10 sold separately)
- FDA
- 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device
Maker sourceFrom the maker's product page. Not stated means the maker publishes nothing.
We may earn a commission. It never changes which table we pick, or the order they appear in.
The Three Side by Side
| Spec | YOLEO Heavy DutyBudget, price tier 1 of 3Listing only | Innova ITX9600Budget, price tier 1 of 3Maker source | Teeter FitSpine X3Premium, price tier 3 of 3Maker source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Weight capacity | Not stated | 300 lbHighest here | 300 lbHighest here |
| Maker-recommended limit | 265 lb | Not stated | Not stated |
| User height | Not stated | 4'10" to 6'6" | 4'8" to 6'6" |
| Angle control | Adjustable rear cross bar instead of a tether; degrees not stated | Pin with protective cover; the manual labels the settings 15°, 30°, 45°, 60° and 85° (the product page calls it a six-position pin) | EZ-Angle tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°; full inversion with secure lockout |
| Warranty | 2 years | 1 year limited | 5 years (extension to 10 sold separately)Highest here |
| Ankle system | Adjustable ratchet ankle locking system with safety lock pin | Reversible ankle holders (foam rollers and U-shaped holders can trade places) | Deluxe EZ-Reach ankle lock, extra-long handle, micro-adjusting closure |
| FDA | Not stated | Not stated | 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device |
| Buy | See today's price: YOLEO Heavy Duty on Amazon (opens in a new tab) | Not linked | See today's price: Teeter FitSpine X3 on Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
YOLEO Heavy DutyListing only- Weight capacity
- Not stated
- Maker-recommended limit
- 265 lb
- User height
- Not stated
- Angle control
- Adjustable rear cross bar instead of a tether; degrees not stated
- Warranty
- 2 years
- Ankle system
- Adjustable ratchet ankle locking system with safety lock pin
- FDA
- Not stated
Innova ITX9600Maker source- Weight capacity
- 300 lbHighest here
- Maker-recommended limit
- Not stated
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- Pin with protective cover; the manual labels the settings 15°, 30°, 45°, 60° and 85° (the product page calls it a six-position pin)
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- Ankle system
- Reversible ankle holders (foam rollers and U-shaped holders can trade places)
- FDA
- Not stated
Teeter FitSpine X3Maker source- Weight capacity
- 300 lbHighest here
- Maker-recommended limit
- Not stated
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- EZ-Angle tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°; full inversion with secure lockout
- Warranty
- 5 years (extension to 10 sold separately)Highest here
- Ankle system
- Deluxe EZ-Reach ankle lock, extra-long handle, micro-adjusting closure
- FDA
- 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device
Maker source from the maker's own page or manual, not independently testedListing only retail listing, no maker spec sheetNot stated the maker publishes nothing
For every other use case, see our guide to the best inversion tables.
Using an Old Stamina Table Safely
If you still have a 55-1532, the manual’s rules are the ones to follow.
Never Alone, and Balance It First
The manual says: “Do not use the Gravity Inversion Therapy Table alone. Always have a helper available” (Stamina manual, 2011). To set the height, you lie back, raise your hands to your chest and check that your feet don’t rise above your head; “if your feet are higher than your head, dismount and try a taller setting.” The table should come back upright when your hands are below your waist.
Keep Sessions Short
The manual suggests five or ten minutes each morning and evening, built up from one or two minutes over several weeks, and limits partial inversion without movement to one or two minutes (Stamina manual, 2011). The authors of a report on three spinal cord injuries from inversion table falls go further and advise staying under one minute (Jung, 2021). Neither figure comes from a trial; our guide on how to use an inversion table sets out both.
These are manufacturer caution lists, not conditions each proven dangerous in a study. Our page on who should not use an inversion table sorts them by the evidence behind each one, and our guide to inversion tables for back pain covers the back pain evidence.
Your questions, answered
Frequently Asked Questions
Is it okay to use an inversion table every day?
Daily use is what the makers have in mind. Stamina's own manual suggested sessions morning and evening, and Teeter recommends several short sessions a day over longer ones. No long-term study of daily inversion has been published, though, so the manufacturer caution lists still apply: if you have high blood pressure, glaucoma or a heart condition, ask your doctor before making it a habit.
Is it better to use an inversion table in the morning or at night?
Either works, and no study has compared the two. The Stamina manual pictured a session each morning and each evening, and Teeter describes inversion as a morning wake-up or an evening wind-down. What matters more is keeping each session short, from one or two minutes at first, and having someone nearby while you are still learning the table.
9 sources used for this guide
Each linked to the original. Citations in the text jump here.
View sources
Stamina Products, Inc. Gravity Inversion Therapy Table Owner's Manual, models 55-1532, 55-1532A, 55-1532B. Owner's manual, 2011.
CPSC. Inversion Therapy Tables Recalled by Stamina Products Due to Fall Hazard. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, recall 08538, January 16, 2008.
Stamina Products, Inc. Exercise Equipment for Back Pain (Back Health collection). staminaproducts.com, accessed September 2026.
Stamina Products, Inc. Stamina inLine Forward Inversion (SKU 55-1426). staminaproducts.com, product page.
Teeter. How to Use an Inversion Table. teeter.com blog, 2020 (updated 2022).
Innova. ITX9600 Heavy Duty Deluxe Inversion Therapy Table, Owner's Manual (version 1709AJJ). Innova Products Inc., owner's manual.
Teeter. FitSpine X1 Inversion Table. teeter.com, product page.
Ironman Fitness (Paradigm Health & Wellness Inc.). Ironman Fitness Gravity 4000 Owner's Manual. Owner's manual, hosted on ManualsLib.
Jung SH, Hwang JM, Kim CH. Inversion Table Fall Injury, the Phantom Menace: Three Case Reports on Cervical Spinal Cord Injury. Healthcare (Basel) 2021;9(5):492.