Buying guide
Inversion Table for Back Pain: Does It Help, and Which One Should You Try?
By the IntoInversion teamUpdated
- 2 picks
- 20 sources
- 17 min read
We earn from qualifying purchases made through our links.

Almost everyone who looks up an inversion table for back pain wants one answer: will it work for me? We are not doctors, and we did not test these tables on people, so what we offer is a careful reading of the sources and the specs each manufacturer publishes.
What an Inversion Table for Back Pain Is Supposed to Do
Before judging the evidence, it helps to know what the tool is meant to achieve, and which kind of back pain this page is about. Our overview of inversion therapy covers the wider idea.
Gravity as Traction
Inversion tables are a form of spinal traction. A 2023 paper in Disability and Rehabilitation describes inversion table therapy as traction “which is thought to have a role in relieving low back pain due to the gravity-facilitated traction of the spine which distracts the lumbar vertebrae” (Kassay, 2023). When you tip back and hang from your ankles, the weight of your upper body pulls on the lower spine and may separate the vertebrae slightly.
The phrase that matters is “is thought to.” That paper is a regulatory and opinion piece, not a trial, and it describes a proposed mechanism rather than a proven effect (Kassay, 2023). Our page on what inversion tables can and can’t do goes through the mechanism and its limits in more detail.
Which Back Pain This Page Covers
This page is about pain in the lower back itself, including the common, nonspecific kind that has no single structural cause, plus three conditions whose own pages we have folded in here: spinal stenosis, degenerative disc disease and hip pain.
Pain that travels down the leg is a different problem. If it runs below the knee, with or without tingling, that is sciatica, and our page on inversion tables for sciatica covers it.
If a scan has shown a herniated or bulging disc, see our page on inversion tables for a herniated disc. For nerve compression in the neck or arm, our guide to inversion tables for pinched nerves is the right place. Those pages go deeper than we can here.
Why the Distinction Matters
The distinction is not a technicality. As you will see below, the only studies with encouraging results enrolled people with disc disease and nerve symptoms.
What the Guidelines and the Cochrane Review Say
Clinical guidelines are written by panels that weigh the published trials together. Two of them speak directly to low back pain, and a Cochrane review pools the trials themselves.
NICE (UK): Do Not Offer Traction
The UK’s National Institute for Health and Care Excellence publishes the guideline doctors in England follow for low back pain. Its recommendation on traction is one sentence: “Do not offer traction for managing low back pain with or without sciatica” (NICE, 2016). It dates from 2016 and was still in force after NICE updated the guideline in July 2026.
Note the words “with or without sciatica.” This recommendation applies to plain low back pain as written. NICE does not single out inversion tables; it rejects traction as a category, and an inversion table falls inside that category.
ACP (US): Traction Is Not on the List
The American College of Physicians published a guideline on noninvasive treatment of low back pain in 2017. Its abstract lists the non-drug treatments it recommends. For acute and subacute pain: “superficial heat (moderate-quality evidence), massage, acupuncture, or spinal manipulation.” For chronic pain, a longer list that includes exercise, multidisciplinary rehabilitation, tai chi, yoga and spinal manipulation (Qaseem, 2017).
Traction does not appear on any of those lists. We quote the abstract, and the full guideline has longer evidence tables, so the precise statement is narrow: the abstract of the ACP’s 2017 guideline does not list traction among its recommended treatments. It does not say that traction fails.
Cochrane: 32 Trials, Little or No Effect
A Cochrane review published in 2013 combined 32 trials with 2,762 people who had low back pain, with or without sciatica. It concluded that traction, “either alone or in combination with other treatments, has little or no impact on pain intensity, functional status, global improvement and return to work” (Wegner, 2013).
The review covered traction of all kinds, and most trials did not use inversion tables, so it doesn’t prove inversion fails. It does show that the general promise of traction has not held up when tested many times. It also recorded harm: seven of the 32 trials reported adverse effects, including “increased pain, aggravation of neurological signs and subsequent surgery” (Wegner, 2013).
A Small Trial in Chronic Low Back Pain
One randomized trial did test inversion in the kind of back pain this page covers. In 2013, 47 women with chronic nonspecific low back pain were split into three groups for eight weeks: one lay flat, one inverted to 30 degrees and one to 60 degrees, three minutes at a time, three times per session, four days a week. Pain eased in all three groups, and the 60 degree group came out ahead on pain, lower back flexibility and back extensor strength (Kim, 2013). The trial was small, it included only women, and nobody has repeated it. It is a reason to think inversion might help some people, not a result that outweighs the Cochrane review or the NICE advice above.
Where the US Spine Society Stands
The North American Spine Society guideline we read is not about nonspecific back pain. It covers lumbar disc herniation with nerve root symptoms, and for that condition it rates the evidence on traction as insufficient to recommend “for or against” it (NASS, 2012). We mention it only as context; the herniated disc page linked above explains it in full.
The Two Newcastle Studies With Positive Results, and Why They Aren’t About Plain Back Pain
The most encouraging evidence for inversion comes from one neurosurgical team in Newcastle, England. We summarize it here; the inversion table benefits page reads it line by line.
The 2012 Pilot: Fewer Operations, Same Pain Scores
The team randomized 24 patients with single-level lumbar disc disease who were already waiting for surgery. Of the 13 who added inversion to physiotherapy, 10 avoided the operation; in the physiotherapy-only group, two patients did. Pain and disability scores, and MRI results, did not differ significantly between the groups (Prasad, 2012). Inversion seemed to change the decision to operate without measurably changing pain, and the pilot was far too small to settle anything.
The 2021 Registry: 21% Against 39%
The same team later followed 85 inversion users with lumbar disc disease. Their two-year surgery rate was 21%, against 39% in a matched group of neurosurgery patients who did not invert (Mendelow, 2021). It was a registry, not a randomized trial, so the people who chose inversion may have differed from the controls in ways that also affect surgery.
Each person was also compared with their own scores before inversion: 74% (49 of 66) had a lower pain score, 75% (48 of 64) improved on the Oswestry Disability Index, and the median pain score fell from 6 to 3. There was no control group for these figures, and the authors state the problem plainly: “The main limitation of the study is that patients were not randomised” (Mendelow, 2021).
Who Was Actually in These Studies
Both studies enrolled people with lumbar disc disease, most with symptoms from a compressed nerve. Nobody with nonspecific back pain and no leg symptoms was the subject of either one. That is why we can’t transfer their results to someone asking whether an inversion table for back pain alone is worth trying. And because the registry’s symptom figures had no comparison group, they can’t separate the effect of inversion from improvement that would have come with time.
What Teeter Advertises From This Work
Teeter’s FitSpine page advertises “74% Pain Reduction,” “75% Increased Physical Ability,” “50% Less Likely to Need Surgery” and “39% Eliminated Pain Medication,” citing Mendelow and colleagues (Teeter).
The 74% and 75% are in the paper, as uncontrolled before-and-after results. The 50% rounds 21% against 39%. The paper reports that the share of people on any pain medication fell from 73% to 49%, which is not the same as 39% stopping it (Mendelow, 2021). The 2021 registry used Teeter tables, and Teeter supplied them and funded the study’s administrator; the authors state the analysis was independent (Mendelow, 2021).
Spinal Stenosis: Is There Evidence, or a Reason for Extra Caution?
Spinal stenosis is a narrowing of the spinal canal or the openings where nerves leave it. Of the three conditions folded into this page, it is the one people search for most, and it is also the one where the evidence is least encouraging.
No Study of Inversion Tables in Spinal Stenosis
We looked for a study of inversion tables in people with spinal stenosis and found none. Searches of the medical literature returned surgical case series and biomechanics papers, but no trial of inversion or traction in stenosis patients. The one clinical paper that shows up in search results for this condition is the 2021 Newcastle registry above, whose patients had lumbar disc disease, not stenosis (Mendelow, 2021).
The guidelines don’t fill the gap either. NICE’s advice against traction covers low back pain as a whole (NICE, 2016). It mentions stenosis only once, in a recommendation about epidural injections, which has nothing to do with traction.
The One Traction Trial That Left Stenosis Out
The closest study we found is a 2025 randomized, double-blind trial from Germany. It tested an overnight horizontal traction bed called Movento, not an inversion table, in people with lumbar spondylosis and osteoarthritis. Its exclusion criteria included “patients with lumbar stenosis” and osteoporosis, the latter “to avoid traction induced fracture” (Seeger, 2025).
Read that carefully. It doesn’t prove inversion is harmful in stenosis. It shows that researchers designing a gentle traction trial, lying flat with body weight only, chose to keep stenosis patients out. The same authors note that inversion therapy differs from their bed in “traction weight” and duration (Seeger, 2025), and nobody has studied inversion in this group at all.
What the Manufacturers Say
Neither Teeter nor Innova names spinal stenosis among its contraindications. Their lists do include broader categories that can apply to some stenosis patients: Teeter lists significant spinal curvature, osteoporosis and surgically implanted orthopedic supports (Teeter), and Innova lists “spinal injury” and bone weakness (Innova). If you have had surgery for stenosis, the implant categories may apply to you. If a curve is part of your picture, our page on scoliosis and inversion tables looks at the curvature item on its own.
Teeter goes further in the other direction. Its assembly manual names spinal stenosis among ten conditions its tables are “indicated for” under their FDA registration (Teeter, 2023). That indication rests on a 510(k) clearance, which the FDA grants when a device is “substantially equivalent” to one already on the market (FDA, 2016). It is a regulatory status, not evidence that inversion relieves stenosis.
What This Means if You Have Stenosis
No study supports inversion for your condition, the main UK guideline advises against traction, and the only traction trial in a related group excluded people like you as a precaution. If your doctor still agrees, the shallow, marked angles described further down are the conservative way to try it.
Degenerative Disc Disease: The Closest Thing to Direct Evidence
“Degenerative disc disease” is the everyday name for wear in the discs between the vertebrae. It isn’t a single diagnosis in the studies, which is why the evidence has to be read by label.
Why the Newcastle Studies Are the Nearest Match
The Newcastle pilot enrolled patients with “pure single level lumbar discogenic disease” (Prasad, 2012), and the registry was titled “Lumbar disc disease” (Mendelow, 2021). That is the clinical territory of degenerative disc disease, and it is the nearest thing to direct evidence for inversion in this condition. The same limits apply: one pilot of 24 people that found no difference in pain, and a registry whose symptom figures had no control group.
There is a second catch. Those patients mostly had nerve symptoms and were on a path toward disc surgery. If your scans show disc wear but your pain stays in the back, with no leg symptoms, the studies say less about you.
A Horizontal Traction Bed Is Not an Inversion Table
The 2025 German trial described above studied lumbar spondylosis and osteoarthritis, which overlaps with what many people call degenerative disc disease. At the end of a three-week stay, the traction bed group did significantly better than a sham bed group on pain, the Roland-Morris disability score and quality of life (Seeger, 2025). By the 12-week follow-up, the advantage on pain had gone.
And it was a different device. The authors themselves distinguish their bed from “inversion therapy,” noting the two differ “in terms of dosage (traction weight) and duration of application” (Seeger, 2025): body weight only, lying flat, for hours each night. It points in a hopeful direction for traction, briefly, but it says nothing direct about inversion tables.
What Teeter’s Indication List Adds
Teeter’s assembly manual also names degenerative disc disease among the conditions its tables are indicated for (Teeter, 2023). As with stenosis, that is the manufacturer’s claim under a clearance based on equivalence to existing devices, not the result of a trial. For disc disease, the honest summary is: some signal, from a narrow group, and nothing yet that settles it.
Hip Pain: Why We Can’t Recommend an Inversion Table for It
This is the shortest section, because the evidence is the thinnest of the three.
No Study Found
We found no study of an inversion table in people with hip pain or hip osteoarthritis. The search results for the question are stretching articles and videos, not clinical research. Teeter’s list of the ten conditions its tables are indicated for doesn’t include the hip at all (Teeter, 2023), and neither maker names the hip in its contraindication list.
Pain Felt in the Hip Is Not Always the Hip
Some hip pain actually starts in the lower back. A nerve root irritated in the lumbar spine can send pain into the buttock and hip as well as down the leg. If that is your pattern, the question is really about sciatica, and our sciatica page covers what is known.
Pain from the hip joint itself, such as arthritis, bursitis or a labral tear, is a different matter. An inversion table is designed to apply traction to the spine, and no manufacturer we read claims it treats the hip joint. We can’t recommend one for it.
Falls, Blood Pressure and Who Should Not Try This
Whatever your reason for considering an inversion table, the same risks apply, and some of them matter more when your back already hurts.
Falls Are the Most Serious Risk
Doctors in South Korea reported three cervical spinal cord injuries after inversion table falls. They compare the mechanism to a shallow-water diving injury: when ankle strength gives out or the feet slip, the user lands on the top of the head, and falls of one or two feet “are by no means negligible” (Jung, 2021). It is three cases, so it shows how a fall happens, not how often.
The authors suggest sessions under one minute, an angled pillow or rubber ramp under the head, and extra care for older and heavier users (Jung, 2021). If back pain makes it hard to step on, lock your ankles or pull yourself upright, that is the weak point they describe.
Blood Pressure Rises When You Invert
In a 1986 trial, two minutes of inversion significantly raised both systolic and diastolic blood pressure in 60 healthy young women, and the authors wrote that “hypertensive individuals may need to avoid its use” (Haskvitz, 1986). The study was small and its volunteers were young and healthy, so it can’t tell you how large the rise would be for you. It is still a reason to know your blood pressure before you buy anything.
Osteoporosis and the Other Contraindications
Teeter tells users not to invert without a licensed physician’s approval if they have, among other conditions, high blood pressure, glaucoma, osteoporosis, fractures, orthopedic implants, a hernia or recent surgery (Teeter). Innova’s ITX9600 manual adds “weak ankles and/or feet” and “spinal injury” (Innova).
Osteoporosis deserves attention on this page in particular, because it is the other condition the 2025 traction trial excluded, “to avoid traction induced fracture” (Seeger, 2025). Our page on who should not use an inversion table goes through both lists item by item.
Best Inversion Table for Back Pain: What to Look For if Your Doctor Clears You
Here is the principle before the picks. No inversion table has been shown to treat back pain. The 2021 Newcastle registry used Teeter tables, but with no control group it cannot show that one model works better than another. So we are not choosing a table that heals anything. We are choosing tables that make it easy to follow the cautious approach above: a shallow angle you choose before you tip back, the same angle every session, short sessions, and a safe way on and off.
We picked from the tables verified on our main best inversion tables page, using the specs each maker publishes. If you buy through our links, we may earn a commission; it never decides the pick.

Our pick for a cautious trial
Teeter FitSpine X3
The easiest table here to use conservatively. You set your angle while standing, you can see it on the strap, and you go back to the same one next time.
- Tether marked at 20, 40 and 60 degrees, so you set your limit before you tip back
- You return to exactly the same angle every session
- Five-year warranty, against Innova's one year
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 5 years
- Price range
- Premium
Maker sourceSpecs from the maker's own product page

Best if bending to lock your ankles hurts
Choose it if bending to lock your ankles is the worst part: the arched frame and raised boarding platform make getting on and off easier. Skip it if getting on the table is not a problem: the X3 gives you the same angle control.

Best low-cost way to find out
Choose it if you want to find out whether inversion does anything for you before paying premium money. Skip it if you want the degrees on the frame: they are in the manual, not printed on the table.
| Spec | Editor's choice Teeter FitSpine X3Premium, price tier 3 of 3Maker source | Teeter FitSpine LX9Premium, price tier 3 of 3Maker source | Innova ITX9600Budget, price tier 1 of 3Maker source | Innova ITX1200Mid-range, price tier 2 of 3Maker source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Angle control | EZ-Angle tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°; full inversion with secure lockout | EZ-Angle tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°; full inversion with secure lockout | Pin with protective cover; the manual labels the settings 15°, 30°, 45°, 60° and 85° (the product page calls it a six-position pin) | Three-position pin with protective cover; degrees not stated; adjustable stretch bars for a fuller stretch at lower slopes |
| Weight capacity | 300 lb | 300 lb | 300 lb | 350 lbHighest here |
| User height | 4'8" to 6'6" | 4'8" to 6'6" | 4'10" to 6'6" | 4'10" to 6'6" |
| Ankle system | Deluxe EZ-Reach ankle lock, extra-long handle, micro-adjusting closure | Deluxe EZ-Reach ankle lock with Ankle Comfort Dial | Reversible ankle holders (foam rollers and U-shaped holders can trade places) | Reversible ankle holding system |
| Warranty | 5 years (extension to 10 sold separately)Highest here | 5 years (extension to 10 sold separately)Highest here | 1 year limited | 1 year limited |
| FDA | 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device | 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device | Not stated | Not stated |
| Heat and massage | None | None | None | None |
| Assembly and setup | 85% pre-assembled, BILT app instructions (brand-wide claim) | 85% pre-assembled, BILT app instructions (brand-wide claim) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Buy | See today's price: Teeter FitSpine X3 on Amazon (opens in a new tab) | See today's price: Teeter FitSpine LX9 on Amazon (opens in a new tab) | Not linked | Not linked |
Editor's choiceTeeter FitSpine X3Maker source- Angle control
- EZ-Angle tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°; full inversion with secure lockout
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Ankle system
- Deluxe EZ-Reach ankle lock, extra-long handle, micro-adjusting closure
- Warranty
- 5 years (extension to 10 sold separately)Highest here
- FDA
- 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device
- Heat and massage
- None
- Assembly and setup
- 85% pre-assembled, BILT app instructions (brand-wide claim)
Teeter FitSpine LX9Maker source- Angle control
- EZ-Angle tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°; full inversion with secure lockout
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Ankle system
- Deluxe EZ-Reach ankle lock with Ankle Comfort Dial
- Warranty
- 5 years (extension to 10 sold separately)Highest here
- FDA
- 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device
- Heat and massage
- None
- Assembly and setup
- 85% pre-assembled, BILT app instructions (brand-wide claim)
Innova ITX9600Maker source- Angle control
- Pin with protective cover; the manual labels the settings 15°, 30°, 45°, 60° and 85° (the product page calls it a six-position pin)
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Ankle system
- Reversible ankle holders (foam rollers and U-shaped holders can trade places)
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- FDA
- Not stated
- Heat and massage
- None
- Assembly and setup
- Not stated
Innova ITX1200Maker source- Angle control
- Three-position pin with protective cover; degrees not stated; adjustable stretch bars for a fuller stretch at lower slopes
- Weight capacity
- 350 lbHighest here
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Ankle system
- Reversible ankle holding system
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- FDA
- Not stated
- Heat and massage
- None
- Assembly and setup
- Not stated
Maker source from the maker's own page or manual, not independently testedListing only retail listing, no maker spec sheetNot stated the maker publishes nothing
Teeter FitSpine X3: Degrees Printed on the Strap
The X3’s tether is marked at 20, 40 and 60 degrees. That is the practical reason to choose it for back pain: you set your limit while standing, you can see it on the strap, and you return to exactly the same angle next time. If your doctor says “keep it shallow,” this is the easiest table to hold to that.
It sits in the premium tier, with a five-year warranty against Innova’s one year, and it carries Teeter’s FDA 510(k) status, with the limits explained in the stenosis section. None of that makes it a treatment. It makes it the easiest table here to use conservatively.

Long ankle-lock handle, 5-year warrantyMaker source
Teeter FitSpine X3
by TEETER
Best for people with back pain who need a shallow angle they can repeat.
Skip it if bending to lock your ankles is the worst part: the LX9 is built for getting on and off.
What the premium over a cheaper table buys is the longer ankle-lock handle, the 5-year warranty against Innova's 1 year, and a tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°. The Innova ITX9600 also lets you set a limit with a pin whose degrees are listed in its manual, so a marked angle is not exclusive to Teeter.
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 5 years
- Price range
- Premium
What we like
- Tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°, set before you get on
- Five-year full warranty, against Innova's one year
- Teeter's tables are FDA 510(k) cleared under K162702
- EZ-Reach ankle lock with an extra-long handle
Keep in mind
- No heat or massage
- No raised boarding platform, unlike the LX9
- Rated to 300 lb, max height 6 ft 6 in
Full specs
- Price range
- Premium
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- EZ-Angle tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°; full inversion with secure lockout
- Ankle system
- Deluxe EZ-Reach ankle lock, extra-long handle, micro-adjusting closure
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 5 years (extension to 10 sold separately)
- FDA
- 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device
Maker sourceFrom the maker's product page. Not stated means the maker publishes nothing.
We may earn a commission. It never changes which table we pick, or the order they appear in.
Teeter FitSpine LX9: The Easier Way On and Off
The LX9 has the same marked tether as the X3. What it adds, according to Teeter, is an arched frame “for effortless entry and exit” and a “Raised Boarding Platform” that makes stepping into the ankle locks easier (Teeter).
With a sore back, bending to lock your ankles is often the worst part, and it is also where a fall can start. If that sounds like you, the LX9 is worth the step up. If getting on the table is not a problem, the X3 gives you the same angle control.

Raised boarding platformMaker source
Teeter FitSpine LX9
by TEETER
Best for people whose sore back makes bending to lock the ankles the worst part.
Skip it if getting on the table is not a problem: the X3 gives you the same angle control.
Same angle system as the X3, plus a boarding platform with an arched frame. Worth the step up only if getting on and off the table is the hard part for you.
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 5 years
- Price range
- Premium
What we like
- Raised boarding platform and arched frame for getting on and off
- Same 20°, 40° and 60° marked tether as the X3
- Five-year full warranty, with a five-year extension sold separately
- Ships with a Storage Caddy and traction handles on the hinges
Keep in mind
- Otherwise identical to the X3, so you pay for the platform
- Roller hinge setting must match your body weight, per the manual
- No heat or massage
- Rated to 300 lb, max height 6 ft 6 in
Full specs
- Price range
- Premium
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- EZ-Angle tether marked at 20°, 40° and 60°; full inversion with secure lockout
- Ankle system
- Deluxe EZ-Reach ankle lock with Ankle Comfort Dial
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 5 years (extension to 10 sold separately)
- FDA
- 510(k) cleared (K162702), Class I device
Maker sourceFrom the maker's product page. Not stated means the maker publishes nothing.
We may earn a commission. It never changes which table we pick, or the order they appear in.
Innova ITX9600: The Low-Cost Way to Find Out
Given that the Cochrane review found little or no average effect from traction, it makes sense to find out whether inversion does anything for you before paying premium money. The ITX9600 is the budget table we would point to.
The angle is set with a pin, and the owner’s manual labels the settings 15, 30, 45, 60 and 85 degrees; the pin goes into the 15 degree hole during assembly (Innova). The degrees are in the manual, not printed on the frame, so keep the manual handy. The trade-offs are a one-year limited warranty and no FDA status stated for this model.

Reversible ankle holdersMaker source
Innova ITX9600
by Innova
Best for people who want to test inversion for back pain before paying premium money.
Skip it if you want the degrees on the frame: they are in the manual, not printed on the table.
It is the only entry table here with reversible ankle holders, so the foam roller can move to the front once inverting stops feeling new. One of its listing bullets says 350 lb; the maker's page says 300 lb, and 300 is what we publish.
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 1 year
- Price range
- Budget
What we like
- Ankle holders reverse, so the foam roller can move to the front
- Manual labels the pin angles, from 15° up to 85°
- Pin with a protective cover, left at 15° after assembly
- Rated to 300 lb in both the manual and on the maker's page
Keep in mind
- One-year limited warranty, non-transferable
- No heat or massage
- Manual shows five pin angles, the product page says six
- Needs 2 ft clear at each side and 3 ft front and back
We are not linking to this model at the moment. The specs below still hold. See the alternatives we would pick instead.
Full specs
- Price range
- Budget
- Weight capacity
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- Pin with protective cover; the manual labels the settings 15°, 30°, 45°, 60° and 85° (the product page calls it a six-position pin)
- Ankle system
- Reversible ankle holders (foam rollers and U-shaped holders can trade places)
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- FDA
- Not stated
Maker sourceFrom the maker's product page. Not stated means the maker publishes nothing.
Innova ITX1200: If You Weigh More Than 300 lb
Every table above is rated to 300 lb. The ITX1200 is the one Innova rates higher: 350 lb, for users from 4’10” to 6’6”, with a three-position pin (Innova). Innova doesn’t state the degrees for those three positions, so you give up the marked angles of the Teeter tables. Remember that the fall report flags heavier users as needing extra care (Jung, 2021): have someone with you for the first sessions.

Rated to 350 lbMaker source
by Innova
Best for users over 300 lb who can live without marked angles.
Skip it if you want marked angles: Innova doesn't state the degrees for its three pin positions.
It is the only table from either Innova or Teeter that the maker rates above 300 lb: Innova publishes 350 lb for it, where every other model in both ranges stops at 300 lb or lower.
- Weight limit
- 350 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 1 year
- Price range
- Mid-range
What we like
- 350 lb capacity, the highest in the Innova and Teeter ranges
- Adjustable stretch bars for a fuller stretch at lower slopes
- Reversible ankle holding system
- Pin with a protective cover
Keep in mind
- Only three pin positions, with degrees not stated
- One-year limited warranty
- Max height 6 ft 6 in, the same as the 300 lb models
- No heat or massage
We are not linking to this model at the moment. The specs below still hold. See the alternatives we would pick instead.
Full specs
- Price range
- Mid-range
- Weight capacity
- 350 lb
- User height
- 4'10" to 6'6"
- Angle control
- Three-position pin with protective cover; degrees not stated; adjustable stretch bars for a fuller stretch at lower slopes
- Ankle system
- Reversible ankle holding system
- Heat and massage
- None
- Warranty
- 1 year limited
- FDA
- Not stated
Maker sourceFrom the maker's product page. Not stated means the maker publishes nothing.
See the tables we left out, and why
Heat, Massage and the Tables We Left Out
The ACP abstract recommends superficial heat for acute and subacute back pain (Qaseem, 2017). That means a heat wrap or pad, not a table, but if warmth is what helps your back, Innova builds heat and massage into its ITM tables, and our main guide covers them. Treat heat as comfort for tense muscles, never as a treatment for stenosis or a worn disc. If you want something smaller than a table, our guide to the best back stretcher explains why an arch board bends the back the way that usually aggravates stenosis, and what works in the other direction. We also left out the budget YOLEO table from our main list here, because its maker publishes no spec sheet and recommends it only up to 265 lb.
How to Start: Angle, Time and When to Stop
Nothing here replaces an examination. If your doctor has looked at your back and agrees that a trial is reasonable, this is what the manufacturers and the safety literature say about starting.
Start at a Shallow Angle
Nobody has shown that more angle helps back pain more. Teeter’s user guide tells new users to “start at a 20-degree angle so your body can adjust to being upside down” (Teeter, 2023). The same guide calls 60 degrees the “magic angle” where disc pressure is “at or near zero”; that is Teeter’s claim, not a measured result in the document. On the X3 and LX9, the tether marks look like this:
These are product settings, not a recommended progression. Follow the current manual and any restrictions given by your clinician.
Innova’s advice is similar: “Start at a low inversion position,” written as “(15)” in its FAQ, and have a spotter with you (Innova).

Keep Sessions Short
Teeter’s guide suggests one to two minute sessions to begin, working up to three to five (Teeter, 2023). The doctors who reported the fall injuries recommend under one minute (Jung, 2021). The first is a manufacturer’s usage suggestion; the second is a safety recommendation. Neither was tested for back pain, and the shorter one costs you nothing. Our guide on how to use an inversion table walks through setup and coming back up.
Know When to Stop
Use the Cochrane review’s list of harms as your checklist: more pain, worse neurological signs, and in some trials, surgery afterward (Wegner, 2013).
New leg symptoms change the question from back pain to a nerve problem, and the sciatica page linked above is the place to read about that. A short note after each session (angle, minutes, how your back felt that evening) makes that conversation more useful.
Your questions, answered
Frequently Asked Questions
Should you use an inversion table if you have spinal stenosis?
Only if your own doctor, who knows your scans, approves it first. No study has tested inversion tables in people with spinal stenosis. NICE advises against traction for low back pain in general, and a 2025 German trial of a gentle horizontal traction bed left out stenosis patients entirely. That does not prove inversion harms a narrowed canal, but nobody has shown it helps.
Do inversion tables help with hip pain?
There is no evidence that they do. We found no study of an inversion table in people with hip pain or hip arthritis, and Teeter's own list of the conditions its tables are indicated for never mentions the hip. When the hip hurts because a nerve in the lower back is irritated, the question becomes a spinal one, which a doctor should sort out first.
How often should you use an inversion table for lower back pain?
Nobody has tested an ideal schedule for low back pain, so there is no proven frequency. Teeter tells users to start with sessions of one to two minutes and suggests inverting several times a day. Doctors who treated fall injuries advise keeping each session under a minute. A few short, shallow sessions your doctor agrees to is the cautious reading of both.
20 sources used for this guide
Each linked to the original. Citations in the text jump here.
View sources
Kassay A, Soliman MAR, Jhawar BS. Recommendations for inversion table therapy. Disability and Rehabilitation 2023;45(22):3779-3782.
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE). Low back pain and sciatica in over 16s: assessment and management, Recommendations. NICE guideline NG59, published 30 November 2016, last updated 29 July 2026.
Qaseem A, Wilt TJ, McLean RM, Forciea MA, Clinical Guidelines Committee of the American College of Physicians, et al. Noninvasive Treatments for Acute, Subacute, and Chronic Low Back Pain: A Clinical Practice Guideline From the American College of Physicians. Annals of Internal Medicine 2017;166(7):514-530.
Wegner I, Widyahening IS, van Tulder MW et al. Traction for low-back pain with or without sciatica. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2013, CD003010.
Kim JD, Oh HW, Lee JH, Cha JY, Ko IG, Jee YS. The effect of inversion traction on pain sensation, lumbar flexibility and trunk muscles strength in patients with chronic low back pain. Isokinetics and Exercise Science 2013;21(3):237-246.
North American Spine Society (NASS), Lumbar Disc Herniation with Radiculopathy Work Group. Lumbar Disc Herniation with Radiculopathy: An Evidence-Based Clinical Guideline. NASS Evidence-Based Clinical Guidelines, 2012.
Prasad KS, Gregson BA, Hargreaves G, Byrnes T, Winburn P, Mendelow AD. Inversion therapy in patients with pure single level lumbar discogenic disease: a pilot randomized trial. Disability and Rehabilitation 2012;34(17):1473-1480.
Mendelow AD, Gregson BA, Mitchell P et al. Lumbar disc disease: the effect of inversion on clinical symptoms and a comparison of the rate of surgery after inversion therapy with the rate of surgery in neurosurgery controls. Journal of Physical Therapy Science 2021;33(11):801-808.
Teeter. FitSpine Inversion Tables. teeter.com/fitspine/.
Seeger JB, Müller F. Randomized, controlled trial to analyze the effect of using a traction-bed-device on patients suffering from osteoarthritis/spondylosis of the lumbar spine. BMC Musculoskeletal Disorders 2025;26(1):812.
Teeter. Are there health issues that would prevent me from inverting?. teeter.com, Support Center (the same list appears in the owner's manual).
Innova. ITX9600 Heavy Duty Deluxe Inversion Therapy Table, Owner's Manual (version 1709AJJ). Innova Products Inc., owner's manual.
Teeter. Assemble Your FitSpine LX Inversion Table: Assembly Instructions (models LX4 to LX9), rev. LX1040B 0123-0. teeter.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/03/FitSpine-LX-Series_Assembly-Instructions_LX4-thru-LX9_LX1040B_0123-0.pdf.
FDA. 510(k) Premarket Notification K162702: Teeter Manual Inversion Table. U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 510(k) database, decision date December 30, 2016.
Jung SH, Hwang JM, Kim CH. Inversion Table Fall Injury, the Phantom Menace: Three Case Reports on Cervical Spinal Cord Injury. Healthcare (Basel) 2021;9(5):492.
Haskvitz EM, Hanten WP. Blood pressure response to inversion traction. Physical Therapy 1986;66(9):1361-1364.
Teeter. FitSpine LX9 Inversion Table. teeter.com, product page.
Innova. ITX1200 Inversion Table. innovaproductsinc.com, product page.
Teeter. FitSpine LX9 Inversion Table: User Guide, rev. LX1030 0123-4. teeter.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/02/FitSpine-LX-Series_LX6-LX7-LX8-LX9_OM_LX1030_0123-4.pdf.
Innova. Frequently Asked Questions. innovaproductsinc.com/faq/.