Review
Teeter EP-960 Inversion Table: What the Manual Says, the EP-970, and What to Buy Instead
By the IntoInversion teamUpdated
- 7 sources
- 8 min read
We earn from qualifying purchases made through our links.

If you searched for the Teeter EP-960 inversion table, you are probably in one of two spots: you own one, or you found a used one and want to know what you are looking at. This page covers both. It uses one primary source for the specs, Teeter’s own owner’s manual, and it says “Not stated” wherever the manual is silent.
We have not tested these tables. The value here is the verified paper trail: what the manual says, what Teeter’s current site says, and what to check before you hang from a machine that is several years old.
Teeter EP-960 Inversion Table: What It Was
The EP-960 was a ComforTrak-series table from Teeter. The English owner’s manual is document E61711, copyright 2017 (Teeter EP-960 manual). A copy of that manual is hosted by ManualsLib, a third-party manuals library, and we read the full text there. Teeter’s own support pages no longer list the EP-960, so this copy is the best public record of what the table was.
Teeter’s current lineup no longer includes it. The address that used to belong to the EP-970 now redirects to Teeter’s general FitSpine page, which lists the current tables and no EP-960 or EP-970 (Teeter FitSpine page). That check dates from September 23, 2026. “Discontinued” is the right word: the table existed, and it is gone from the catalog.
What the Manual Gives You
Here is the whole spec picture, taken from the manual and nothing else:
| Item | EP-960 |
|---|---|
| Maximum user weight | 300 lb (136 kg) |
| Maximum user height | 6 ft 6 in (198 cm) |
| Minimum height or weight | Not stated |
| Product dimensions | Not stated |
| Warranty terms | Not stated |
| FDA status | Not stated |
| Safety listing | Listed by Underwriters Laboratories Inc. |
The 300 lb and 6 ft 6 in figures come from a warning, not a spec sheet. The manual tells people not to use the table if they are over 6 ft 6 in (198 cm) or over 300 lb (136 kg), and it warns that structural failure could occur or the head and neck could hit the floor (Teeter EP-960 manual). Read it as a ceiling, not as a promise that every user under it will be comfortable.
What the Manual Does Not Say
The manual does not state a minimum height or weight, a set of dimensions, or the warranty. It also does not mention FDA registration; it says the product is Listed by Underwriters Laboratories Inc. (Teeter EP-960 manual). Teeter’s current pages talk about FDA registration for its present tables, so do not assume the EP-960 carries the same status because a newer sibling does.
If a seller lists specs for an EP-960 that go beyond this, such as an exact folded size or a warranty length, ask where the number came from. We could not confirm them from a Teeter document.
Who It Was For, and Where the Limits Sit Now
Teeter’s support center says that all Teeter inversion tables are rated for users between 4 ft 8 in and 6 ft 6 in, up to 300 lb (Teeter support center). The EP-960 manual matches that ceiling. If you are heavier or taller than that, no Teeter table is made for you, old or new. Our guide to inversion tables for big and tall users covers the few tables rated above that line.
Teeter EP-970: How It Differed From the EP-960
Short version: we cannot tell you, and nobody outside Teeter can either, because there is no public data sheet for the EP-970. The EP-970 page on teeter.com now redirects to the FitSpine collection (Teeter FitSpine page). We found no Teeter manual for the Teeter EP-970 to read, so there is nothing to compare line by line.
What Is Known About the EP-970
Only the general rating applies. Teeter’s support center covers every Teeter inversion table, and it puts the range at 4 ft 8 in to 6 ft 6 in and up to 300 lb (Teeter support center). That is a statement about the brand, not a spec sheet for the EP-970, so do not treat it as one.
Retailer pages for old stock sometimes list weights, dimensions and warranty periods for the EP-970. We did not use them: a reseller can copy a number wrongly, and a used unit’s warranty has usually expired or does not transfer.
How to Tell Which One You Have
Look for the product label on the frame and read the model name on it. Do not guess the model from the look of the pad or the color of the frame. The manual says that if a product label or owner’s manual is lost, damaged or illegible, you should contact Teeter’s customer service for a replacement (Teeter EP-960 manual). A table with a missing label is a table whose model you cannot confirm.
Buying a Teeter EP-960 or EP-970 Used: What to Check
A used table is a safety decision first and a money decision second. The two parts the manual keeps coming back to are the ankle lock and the angle tether, and both wear.
The Ankle Lock
The manual tells users to be certain the Ankle Lock System is properly adjusted and fully engaged, and to hear, feel, see and test that it is snug, close-fitting and secure every time before use (Teeter EP-960 manual). On a used table, that instruction has a second meaning: you are testing the part itself, not only your own setup.
Our checklist, which is ours and not Teeter’s:
- Close and open the lock several times. It should engage cleanly with no sticking and no play.
- Look at the ankle cups and the straps for cracks, fraying, compressed foam or a loose fit.
- Check that the lock holds when you pull against it with the table upright, before any tilt.
If any of these fail, replace the part or walk away. Our guide to inversion table replacement parts explains how to find the right ankle system or strap for a Teeter.
The Angle Tether
For storage, the manual says to loop the Angle Tether around the Main Shaft and Crossbar and clip it to itself, or to secure it with a Key Lock that is sold separately, then test that the table cannot rotate (Teeter EP-960 manual). A missing tether or Key Lock is a flag on a used table. It may mean parts were lost, or that the table was moved or stored carelessly.
Is a Used EP-960 Safe to Use?
We cannot tell you that from a listing, and no website can. What the manual does say is that the table is for indoor, home use only, and that you should not use it until a licensed physician has approved (Teeter EP-960 manual). An old table that passes your inspection still carries the same risks as a new one, and it comes without a warranty.
What Is It Worth Used?
We do not print a resale figure. No source we could open gives a fair market range, and a number from a listing would be a seller’s hope, not a price. As a rule, a table with a perfect ankle lock, an intact tether, a solid frame and its manual is worth more than one missing any of them. A table with a damaged safety part is worth the cost of the part plus your time, and often less than that.
What Replaced the EP-960 and EP-970
Teeter’s FitSpine page lists its current inversion line as the FitSpine tables and the ComforTrak EP-560 (Teeter FitSpine page). The EP-560 is the only ComforTrak table left on it, which makes it the closest relative of the EP-960. If you want a compact folding Teeter instead, our FitSpine X1 review covers the smallest of the current tables.
The Closest Replacement: The EP-560
The EP-560 keeps the ComforTrak name and the same 300 lb and 6 ft 6 in ceiling that the older manual sets (Teeter). It is sold with a five-year full warranty on the table, and it is the one current Teeter offered with a heat and vibration cushion (Teeter). The cushion has its own one-year warranty, so do not count the five years as covering the heat (Teeter). Our full review of the Teeter EP-560 has the specs.

Our pick if you want heat on a Teeter
Teeter EP-560V
If you liked the older ComforTrak design, this is the new table to look at. The heat cushion carries its own one-year warranty.
- The closest current relative of the EP-960 and the only EP-series Teeter still sold
- Five-year full warranty on the table, and a heat and vibration cushion in the package
- Rated to 300 lb, for users 4 ft 8 in to 6 ft 6 in
- Weight limit
- 300 lb
- User height
- 4'8" to 6'6"
- Warranty
- 5 years
- Price range
- Mid-range
Maker sourceSpecs from the maker's own product page
The Easier Table to Start On: The FitSpine X3
If you do not need heat, the FitSpine X3 is the table we would start most people on. Teeter’s page for it describes marked angle settings at 20, 40 and 60 degrees (Teeter), which means you set the angle before you lie back, rather than judging it by feel. Our FitSpine X3 review goes through the full spec list.

Better if you don't need heat
Choose it if you are new to inversion and want to set a marked angle before you lie back. Skip it if heat and vibration are the reason you are buying: the X3 has no heat as standard.
If You Are Comparing More Than Teeter
Teeter is one brand. If you are choosing between brands and budgets, our best inversion tables guide and the full Teeter inversion table reviews put the current options side by side.
Safety Before You Invert
Inversion raises your blood pressure and puts you head down, which is why Teeter’s own materials are cautious. Whatever table you use, new or old, the manual’s rule applies first: do not use it until a licensed physician approves.
The Manufacturer’s Contraindication List
Teeter’s contraindication list, which it says is also printed in the owner’s manual, tells users not to invert until a physician has approved if they have high blood pressure, heart or circulatory conditions, anticoagulant use, glaucoma, retinal detachment, osteoporosis, fractures or implants, hernias, severe acid reflux, pregnancy, obesity or recent surgery, among others (Teeter). This is the manufacturer’s list for legal and clinical caution. It is not a proof that each item has been shown to cause harm in a study.
Our full page on who should not use an inversion table goes through the list with the evidence behind each item.
Talk to Your Clinician First
If you have a diagnosed condition, especially of the back, heart, eyes or circulation, talk to your clinician before you invert. Nothing on this page says an inversion table will ease pain, treat a condition or help you avoid a procedure. The EP-960 manual does not claim that either; it is a manual of use and warnings.
Before Every Session
The manual’s rules are short, and they apply to any table:
- Test the ankle lock every time: hear, feel, see and test it (Teeter EP-960 manual).
- Keep the table indoors, for home use only (Teeter EP-960 manual).
- Never use the table above the 300 lb and 6 ft 6 in ceiling (Teeter EP-960 manual).
- Keep children, bystanders and pets away while the table is in use (Teeter EP-960 manual).
For side effects and what people report after using a table, see our page on inversion table side effects.
Your questions, answered
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the price of the Teeter EP-970 inversion table?
There is no current price, because Teeter no longer lists the EP-970 on its site. Any figure you find belongs to a used or old-stock unit and depends on the seller. For a new Teeter in roughly the same class, the EP-560 sits in our mid-range tier, and the FitSpine X3 is the other model worth pricing.
How much weight can a Teeter inversion table hold?
Teeter's support center rates its inversion tables for users up to 300 lb, and for heights between 4 ft 8 in and 6 ft 6 in. The EP-960 manual sets the same ceiling in reverse, telling people over 300 lb or over 6 ft 6 in not to use the table. No Teeter table is rated above 300 lb.
How much is a Teeter inversion table worth?
It depends on the model, the age and the condition, and no public source gives a fair resale figure, so we do not print one. What a used table is worth to you also depends on its safety parts: an ankle lock that no longer engages cleanly, or a worn tether, can make a bargain worthless.
7 sources used for this guide
Each linked to the original. Citations in the text jump here.
View sources
Teeter. ComforTrak EP-960 Inversion Table Owner's Manual (E61711, 0217-4, 2017), copy hosted by ManualsLib. Owner's manual, 2017 (copy hosted by ManualsLib).
Teeter. FitSpine Inversion Tables. teeter.com/fitspine/ (where teeter.com/product/ep-970/ now leads).
Teeter. What are the height and weight ratings for the Teeter inversion table? (support center). teeter.com support center.
Teeter. EP-560 Inversion Table. teeter.com, product page.
Teeter. FitSpine X3 Inversion Table. teeter.com, product page.
Teeter. Heat & Vibration Comfort Cushion. teeter.com, product page.
Teeter. Are there health issues that would prevent me from inverting?. teeter.com, Support Center (the same list appears in the owner's manual).